Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 30 12311 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 294
    Like Tree38Likes

    Sky Fibre hopeful

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre hopeful within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well, I've recently picked up on the exciting news that is the Fibre rollout. I am connected to the SWAAZ ...

    1. #1
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Sky Fibre hopeful

      Well, I've recently picked up on the exciting news that is the Fibre rollout.

      I am connected to the SWAAZ (Aberkenfig) exchange, and FTTC dates were given as September 2011, December 2011 and now March 2012.

      I flat out refuse to accept any BT product, so I've been playing the waiting game for an announcement by Sky.

      BT Infinity speed check website claims that I should be able to receive 40Mb down, and thus I would expect Sky to perform similarly. I've located our street cabinet - are they the "green boxes in the street"? If so, ours is 480 metres away according to Google - obviously I don't know what this means in real-world terms (i.e. where the phone lines go...)

      Anyway, I have registered my interest on the Sky Fibre website, and as soon as I know I can place an order, I will try and ring Sky and get it done. I assume they would be contacting us soon due to the end of March availability of BT Infinity in my area.

      Here's hoping, at least!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre hopeful

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Anyway, I have registered my interest on the Sky Fibre website, and as soon as I know I can place an order, I will try and ring Sky and get it done. I assume they would be contacting us soon due to the end of March availability of BT Infinity in my area.
      Checked with Openreach and it claims "AO" Accepting Orders for my exchange.

      Would now be a pertinent time to approach Sky directly?

      I'd love to be able to place an order immediately!

    4. #3
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre hopeful

      As I understand it, Sky are not yet taking customer orders for Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre.

      Probably because they are not yet "geared up" to do so in terms of training the sales & customer service people and having systems ready to take & progress orders.

      My line has been fibre-ready for a long time now, but I've been waiting fairly (im)patiently for Sky to launch a product!

      The last time I checked (via the Zen Internet checker), the estimated line speed for FTTC was about 29.7Mbps for my line. At present, my line is estimated to support ADSL connection at 5.5Mbps, but Sky have capped it at 4.1Mbps and speed checks put it between 3Mbps and 3.5Mbps at different times.

      I've pre-registered both times (last year and this year) but no invitation to join. Roll on April 2012...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #4
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre hopeful

      Ah, I see. Waiting game time...

    6. #5
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre hopeful

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Ah, I see. Waiting game time...
      Indeed it is!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre hopeful

      It seems the only way you will be offered fibre is to call Cancellations and tell them you are unhappy with your low speed and are thinking on moving. Depending on who you get, you may get an offer.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      toekneem's Avatar
      toekneem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EASBF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre hopeful

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Checked with Openreach and it claims "AO" Accepting Orders for my exchange.

      Would now be a pertinent time to approach Sky directly?

      I'd love to be able to place an order immediately!
      I see from an earlier post that you say you know where your old green street cabinet (PCP) is, did you notice a Brand new green Fibre cabinet within about 100ft of the old one because that is what you need for Infinity. The exchange being enabled means nothing.

      These new cabinets have vents in them to allow air for the power supplies.

      If you want to see an image of the fibre cabinets you can download an image of one of the larger cabinets here:

      Dropbox - Fibre_cab.jpg - Simplify your life
      toekneem

    9. #8
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre hopeful

      yeah an exchange accepting orders only means some of the new cabs have been fitted and working so the 1 for the PCP cab your line connects to needs to be done.
      Also did you use the PCP to post code checker to find your bt cab, its not always the 1 thats physically nearest to you, the 'sau node id' column will show the PCP cab numbers as {P*} some post codes can be served by more than 1 cab, the 'percent lines' column shows the percentage of a post codes lines that are served from each cab number.
      https://www.google.com/fusiontables/...id=S351604JNil

      hope this helps

    10. #9
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre hopeful

      Cheers for the posts

      Yes, I am aware that a new cabinet needs to be put up - as far as I can remember there was only one, and now there are two.

      My wife works with someone who is married to a BT engineer and she said the exchange + cab's were getting upgraded....

      I'll have a bash at that PCP link provided...

      EDIT: My postcode CF32 isn't even on there if I filter it...

      EDIT2: Oh wait, I'm doing it wrong..

    11. #10
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre hopeful

      SWAAZ ABERKENFIG CF32xxx {SWAAZ}{P8} 0 100% 2.18 6b

      I don't really know what this means, just realise that 100% lines are served from whatever cabinet that refers to?

     

     
    Page 1 of 30 12311 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION