Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 98 of 111 FirstFirst ... 488896979899100108 ... LastLast
    Results 971 to 980 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by NWLondoner Can you plug in another router e.g Apple Airport Extreme into the Sky Router, then disable ...

    1. #971
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by NWLondoner View Post
      Can you plug in another router e.g Apple Airport Extreme into the Sky Router, then disable the wireless on the sky router and use the Apple wireless instead? I realise this means using 3 boxes in total but is an idea that appeals to me.
      This is the only current working solution if people intend to use their own router when connecting to SBUF.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Zino_Jones (20-03-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #972
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by NWLondoner View Post
      Can you plug in another router e.g Apple Airport Extreme into the Sky Router, then disable the wireless on the sky router and use the Apple wireless instead? I realise this means using 3 boxes in total but is an idea that appeals to me.
      This is how I have my set up at the moment on ADSL and it works a treat, just set the AE to bridge mode. Ideal if you want to set up a guest network or have dual band wifi.

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Ipster For This Useful Post:

      Zino_Jones (20-03-12)

    6. #973
      Zino_Jones's Avatar
      Zino_Jones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      London
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      There is no news about a new router being imminent, just that one is on it's way later this year.
      thank you, makes my decision easier. i guess sky are going to be using the modified sagem at launch too.

    7. #974
      antonusklesk's Avatar
      antonusklesk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I'm a little confused by the Fibre rollout.

      I'm on Manchester Central exchange, which is currently accepting orders. However, Infinity says it's available to me from June. Does this mean I'm likely to have to wait until June to get SFUB, or should it be available come April 12th?

      Thanks

    8. #975
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by antonusklesk View Post
      I'm a little confused by the Fibre rollout.

      I'm on Manchester Central exchange, which is currently accepting orders. However, Infinity says it's available to me from June. Does this mean I'm likely to have to wait until June to get SFUB, or should it be available come April 12th?

      Thanks
      Double check the BT Wholesale checker rather than the Infinity one. It may be that Openreach are I filling certain areas and yours is one of them. You will have to wait until June if that's what the checker is saying though; because SBUF relies on OR infrastructure to the exchange before being handed over to Sky's equipment.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    9. #976
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by antonusklesk View Post
      I'm a little confused by the Fibre rollout.

      I'm on Manchester Central exchange, which is currently accepting orders. However, Infinity says it's available to me from June. Does this mean I'm likely to have to wait until June to get SFUB, or should it be available come April 12th?
      As mentioned previously, you need to have all of the following in order to be able to get SBUF:
      1. Sky's LLU Equipment in your local telephone exchange
      2. BTO need to enable your Telephone Equipment with FTTC
      3. A new Green Street Cabinet needs to be installed near to the Green Street Cabinet where your current telephone line goes through and the two need to be connected to each other


      Finally, especially important for those whose areas have been enabled to support FTTC for some time, there needs to be some spare capacity in your cabinet to support your additional connection.

      If the result from using the BT Infinity checker shows that you cannot get FTTC before June, then unfortunately you will not be able to get SBUF before this date.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #977
      antonusklesk's Avatar
      antonusklesk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Thank you both very much for that, I've checked BT wholesale and it is indeed saying the cabinet won't be up to scratch until June unfortunately.

      You'd think living in the centre of the city that fibre would have been available a long time ago, but I guess being in the centre also makes it difficult to work on. Annoying because it's been put back from September 2011, to December 2011, to March 2012 and now June 2012 _

    11. #978
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by antonusklesk View Post
      ...You'd think living in the centre of the city that fibre would have been available a long time ago, but I guess being in the centre also makes it difficult to work on...
      There has been a lot of political pressure determining the rollout of Fibre through the UK. Many people, quite rightly IMHO, who live in areas that have terrible ADSL connections (i.e. in the countryside) has been moved up on the rollout.

      Where I live there is a large population, but it is due to be connected to Fibre latter this year. I shall have to wait a little longer than yourself to know when I can finally connect to SBUF.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #979
      crakatoah's Avatar
      crakatoah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: farnborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Ash Vale
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Fibre Installed 19th March
      Nice BTO man called Bruce phoned at 4.00pm to say he was on his way, then again from the cabinet to say that we would lose connection temporarily while he swapped the cables over. By 5.00pm he had fitted the new faceplate and tested the line. Great service and am very pleased with the new connection speed.

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/1842904596.png

      We have detected that your ISP is Sky - Your current download speed is 37368Kbps, and your current upload speed is 1660Kbps.

    13. #980
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by crakatoah View Post
      Fibre Installed 19th March
      Nice BTO man called Bruce phoned at 4.00pm to say he was on his way, then again from the cabinet to say that we would lose connection temporarily while he swapped the cables over. By 5.00pm he had fitted the new faceplate and tested the line. Great service and am very pleased with the new connection speed.

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/1842904596.png

      We have detected that your ISP is Sky - Your current download speed is 37368Kbps, and your current upload speed is 1660Kbps.

      Always nice to hear of another smooth migration on to sky fibre. Do you know how far away from the fibre cabinet you are?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION