Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 96 of 111 FirstFirst ... 46869495969798106 ... LastLast
    Results 951 to 960 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme Check your firewall and AV. Run Malwarebytes just in case you have picked up a 'nasty'. ...

    1. #951
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Check your firewall and AV.

      Run Malwarebytes just in case you have picked up a 'nasty'.
      Malwarebytes Anti-Malware - Download.com
      Quote Originally Posted by Meteosat View Post
      Also check if you have banking software like Rapport - I needed to ditch this as it was the cause of a similar slowdown.

      Cheers
      i dumped rapport but the problem is my avast web shield/network shield, when I disable this the pings come down and speed goes up.

      i have reactivated them though, don't mind losing 1Mb down speed for a bit more protection. I use windows defender to find/remove the nasties
      Last edited by andrewjr; 18-03-12 at 05:56 PM.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298



    2. Advertisement
    3. #952
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Have a mac only house here. No such dilemmas here just need a router that works!
      speedyrite likes this.


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    4. #953
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Sadly all AV packages and Firewall programs will slow your connection down a little.

      Their job is to scan all incoming and outgoing traffic.

      I don't know of any study to show which allows items to pass through more quickly, but security is definitely the better option.

      For anyone whom is serious about making the most of your Fibre connection, consider investing in better hardware in the future. This would include RAM, processor and hard drives. This would be the only way to reduce the overheads.

      Solid state drives are also worth considering as well for the seriously power hungry.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #954
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I have avast and don't get any problems!

      The free version also.

    6. #955
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      i dumped rapport but the problem is my avast web shield/network shield, when I disable this the pings come down and speed goes up.

      i have reactivated them though, don't mind losing 1Mb down speed for a bit more protection. I use windows defender to find/remove the nasties
      Andrew you're still running open firmware on the Openreach modem, aren't you?

      If so, did you try disabling the QOS feature in the Modem's setup pages? (Kudos to Angel_Rex, by the way)

      See my Sig, my upload jumped from 1.69mbps -> 1.86mbps with no adverse effects on my ping times. Maybe worth a try?


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    7. #956
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by fazedup View Post
      Andrew you're still running open firmware on the Openreach modem, aren't you?

      If so, did you try disabling the QOS feature in the Modem's setup pages? (Kudos to Angel_Rex, by the way)

      See my Sig, my upload jumped from 1.69mbps -> 1.86mbps with no adverse effects on my ping times. Maybe worth a try?
      it is still unlocked, i will look at the qos.

      i was just curious as to why pc desktop was showing a higher ping and slower speeds then my mac thats why i booted into safe mode to try it. it doesn't bother me that the pc is slightly slower than my macbook as my macbook gets used more (prefer OSX over Windows).
      Angel_Rex likes this.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    8. #957
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      it is still unlocked, i will look at the qos.

      i was just curious as to why pc desktop was showing a higher ping and slower speeds then my mac thats why i booted into safe mode to try it. it doesn't bother me that the pc is slightly slower than my macbook as my macbook gets used more (prefer OSX over Windows).
      As Scubbie said, hardware can play a huge role.

      My desktop PC i7 980, 12GB DDR3, 128GB SSD....pretty high spec'd. 8-9ms pings.
      Old clapped out Celeron laptop, 20-25ms pings.

      Could be that your Apple is of a higher spec than your desktop?


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    9. #958
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by fazedup View Post
      As Scubbie said, hardware can play a huge role.

      My desktop PC i7 980, 12GB DDR3, 128GB SSD....pretty high spec'd. 8-9ms pings.
      Old clapped out Celeron laptop, 20-25ms pings.

      Could be that your Apple is of a higher spec than your desktop?
      can't remember exactly the spec of them as I'm at work but nowhere near as high as yours. both pc and mac are Intel Core 2 Duo 2.xxGHz, 4GB Ram (DDR3 in Mac), 160GB HDD in PC, 250GB in MacBook.

      With the AV turned off the pings are the same on both machines (the mac is wireless @ 300Mbps) but the downspeed is slightly higher on the PC (wired). wired on the mac makes no difference is pings or speed.

      As I have said, I only tried safe mode and turning AV off to see what would happen. I am more than happy with the speed of the connection, the pings and the quality of it since going active. with the AV running i lose about 1Mb and pings go up to 20-25ms but I used to have a 2.5Mb connection before fibre.

      Also online gaming (Xbox) works better (no lag when playing the yanks in NHL) and the downloads now fly down
      Angel_Rex likes this.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #959
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
      It's that time for me, the BTO engineer just called and said he was switching me over in the cab..considering going for a walk down to him for some pictures lol.
      jayhab, crakatoah, fazedup and 1 others like this.

    11. #960
      crakatoah's Avatar
      crakatoah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: farnborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Ash Vale
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Mr Mot View Post
      It's that time for me, the BTO engineer just called and said he was switching me over in the cab..considering going for a walk down to him for some pictures lol.
      Its my install date today aswell. Have taken the day off and have a 1.00pm - 6.00pm slot. Fingers crossed the BTO man had a good weekend and can find my address

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/1842904596.png

     

     
    Page 96 of 111 FirstFirst ... 46869495969798106 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION