Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 90 of 111 FirstFirst ... 40808889909192100 ... LastLast
    Results 891 to 900 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by fazedup If done correctly, all ancillary voice extentions should be pre-filtered Originally Posted by paulkerdot Going to ...

    1. #891
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by fazedup View Post
      If done correctly, all ancillary voice extentions should be pre-filtered
      Quote Originally Posted by paulkerdot View Post
      Going to call sky tomorrow. In fact i still have the engineers mobile number. I might call him and annoy him
      definitely get it looked at, as fazedup should say all extensions should be filtered at the new VDSL faceplate, thats the whole point of it
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298



    2. Advertisement
    3. #892
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by paulkerdot View Post
      Ok, I found the problem with my speed drop. In between me getting 37 meg and getting 27 meg I removed my adsl filter from the extension where I have the phone plugged in. I put it back a few minutes ago and voila its back at 37meg. Surely I shouldn't need the filter in any socket.
      Either the faceplate is faulty or the extension is improperly wired. It could be connected to the AB terminals instead of the 2-5 on the faceplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #893
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      did i not mention this earlier, i cant remember and theres 89 pages to go through!!!!
      Set your preference to 40 posts and you will only have 23 pages.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      andrewjr (14-03-12)

    6. #894
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Either the faceplate is faulty or the extension is improperly wired. It could be connected to the AB terminals instead of the 2-5 on the faceplate.
      I would guess that the problem is the extension. The people who owned my house before me did everything badly or half arsed. Anyway, its fine with the filter. I called Sky and they told me just to leave it the way it is as long as its working. They are obviously not going to call openreach out again and get charged for my houses sins.


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    7. #895
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      The BTO engineer should have checked that when he did the installation. It is possible your extension is fed from a junction which also feeds the master socket. In that case the engineer might not even have noticed that it was incorrectly wired.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #896
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The BTO engineer should have checked that when he did the installation. It is possible your extension is fed from a junction which also feeds the master socket. In that case the engineer might not even have noticed that it was incorrectly wired.
      Could be possible. My master socket is in the hall and there is a small plastic junction box in the cupboard in the hall. Without going under the floor its difficult to say where cables are connecting up to.


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    9. #897
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      oooh, my ip address has changed for the first time since i've been connected
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #898
      morgee's Avatar
      morgee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Silver Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Burnham, Slough.
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      oooh, my ip address has changed for the first time since i've been connected
      Really? Is that supposed to happen and is it a good or bad thing? And how do you tell if it has changed?

    11. #899
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Speed and ping the same?

    12. #900
      Jim_Bob's Avatar
      Jim_Bob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Hi people,

      I have a query regarding this, I was under the impression the BTO modem could NOT be connected to an extension socket? But reading what dpb said...

      "To my surprise, he had installed modem / new socket faceplate etc in lounge 'extension' behind the tv. I was a bit concerned and asked if he could call me when back at house. He did, and was really friendly / helpful and said no problem with using this socket because it was wired direct from master and was 'full size' whatever that means "

      This intrigues me.

      Is there anyway of knowing if my cabling is capable of the same thing? The issue being.. I live in a new build (2008) flat, my master socket is in a cupboard, and currently my router is 3 rooms away (in the lounge). If i had to put my router in the cupboard it would mean I would have to go wireless for Xbox, TV & Sky. Which is not an option.

      Is this a case of I'm only going to know when the engineer comes or can someone help here?

     

     
    Page 90 of 111 FirstFirst ... 40808889909192100 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION