Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 82 of 111 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast
    Results 811 to 820 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just gone live. A couple of quick tests... Further testing this evening when i've got a little more time. Decided ...

    1. #811
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Just gone live. A couple of quick tests...



      Further testing this evening when i've got a little more time. Decided I'm going to bite the bullet and unlock the HG612 to get some more indepth line stats.
      NewsreadeR, andrewjr, dpb and 4 others like this.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #812
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by sparky678911 View Post
      all i need is a router that is better than the one they gave me lol
      Meh, I think its ok.

      Other than wireless speeds, is there really much else other routers can do?

    4. #813
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      LOL Damn it, is Andrewjr & I the only SKy Fibre lines that are now no longer on a 10ms ping time


      Reboot tonight me thinks >.<

    5. #814
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      LOL Damn it, is Andrewjr & I the only SKy Fibre lines that are now no longer on a 10ms ping time


      Reboot tonight me thinks >.<
      Are you still going on about your Pings

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Meh, I think its ok.

      Other than wireless speeds, is there really much else other routers can do?
      In the words of that Churchill dog, Ohhh Yes! gig ports and USB ports but its all down to what people want to do with their connection and network. Most peope will be happy with the sky fibre router then those geeky ones like me like to twiddle more!
      Angel_Rex and morgee like this.

    6. #815
      zAerokill's Avatar
      zAerokill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256 (Basingstoke)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      We had the socket on the wall upgraded to the NTE5. Not much happened though.

      What I don't understand it that all the websites say FTTC is enabled in my area and most of my neighbours have it. Yet I can't get it...

    7. #816
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by zAerokill View Post
      We had the socket on the wall upgraded to the NTE5. Not much happened though.

      What I don't understand it that all the websites say FTTC is enabled in my area and most of my neighbours have it. Yet I can't get it...
      It all depends on where your line goes, which cabinet- is that cabinet connected to fibre... and all the houses in the street may not all go to the same cabinet. Have you called BT direct to see if they can help you check for BT fibre? As you are sky customer your number may not show up on any checkers.. its best to speak to other ISPs see what they can offer or maybe look into it for you...

    8. #817
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      had a bit of an issue. My sky box wouldnt pick up my fibre router. So i had to enter the ip settings manually. Dunno if this is related to my using a bt homehub as wireless access point. But i thought i would bring it to your attention. It was my first time checking anytime plus since install

    9. #818
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by dj_smurph View Post
      had a bit of an issue. My sky box wouldnt pick up my fibre router. So i had to enter the ip settings manually. Dunno if this is related to my using a bt homehub as wireless access point. But i thought i would bring it to your attention. It was my first time checking anytime plus since install
      I think that the Sky router may seen the BT HomeHub as a potential source for the Internet, which is why I previously suggested changing the IP Address range on the Sky router, since your were unable to change it on the HomeHub. When you have done this, disable the DHCP on the BT HomeHub.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #819
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      519
      Thanks
      82
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Still waiting/hoping to see some results where the customer is further than a stones throw away from their fibre cabinet. One might almost believe they're hand picking the full speed candidates to make for better reading

    11. #820
      dpb's Avatar
      dpb
      dpb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: swadlincote
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Swadlincote
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by joe pineapples View Post
      Still waiting/hoping to see some results where the customer is further than a stones throw away from their fibre cabinet. One might almost believe they're hand picking the full speed candidates to make for better reading
      Hi, I'm more than a stones throw - about 700 meters

     

     
    Page 82 of 111 FirstFirst ... 3272808182838492 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION