Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 111 FirstFirst ... 6789101858108 ... LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; yea that's true I mean 7.50 for unlimited broadband is a steal hehe...

    1. #71
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      yea that's true I mean 7.50 for unlimited broadband is a steal hehe


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      yea that's true I mean 7.50 for unlimited broadband is a steal hehe
      I used to pay BT "MORE" than what sky will be charging for FFTC and I never got more than a sync of 4.5.. Sky Unlimited BB sync 7.5 and its 7.50.

    4. #73
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      yea says it all bt are a capping company they cant handle the traffic unlike sky

    5. #74
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      yea says it all bt are a capping company they cant handle the traffic unlike sky
      Sky has had the luxury of being able to invest hugely in their backhaul. Why BTO hasn't done the same is anyone's guess.

      Personally I believe that it is cheating the consumers the right to a descent service.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #75
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      right guys the router has turned up. i will update this post as i go with information.

      In the box

      1 x Sagemcom F@st 2504N Fibre Router
      1 x black Ethernet (Cat 5e) 1.5m lead
      1 x white Ethernet (Cat 5e) 1.5m lead
      1 x black power adapter 1.5m lead
      1 x Step-by-step set-up CD
      1 x Quick set-up guide and keep me handy cards (2)

      The ethernet leads both have labels on them that read:

      Black Ethernet Cable - Only use me if you want to create a wired connection from you Sky router to you computer

      White Ethernet Cable - Plug one end of me into the back of the Openreach modem and the other ends into one of the yellow ports on the back of the Sky router.

      Router Firmware Version: 5.27.1a4N
      ADSL Firmware Version: A2pD030n.d23b
      Ip Address Range: xxx.xxx.xxx.2 to xxx.xxx.xxx.254
      Lan Speed: 100Mb/s

      I cannot find anywhere in the router settings the username and password so this would suggest that Sky are keeping these hidden as before.

      Edit: when connecting the BTO modem to the router you need to use port 1 of the ethernet ports (the closest one to the input for the power), there is no dedicated port.

      Last edited by andrewjr; 13-02-12 at 03:19 PM.

    7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Moxey (13-02-12),Scubbie (13-02-12)

    8. #76
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      right guys the router has turned up. i will update this post as i go with information.

      In the box

      1 x Sagemcom F@st 2504N Fibre Router
      1 x black Ethernet (Cat 5e) 1.5m lead
      1 x white Ethernet (Cat 5e) 1.5m lead
      1 x black power adapter 1.5m lead
      1 x Set-up CD

      The ethernet leads both have labels on them that read:

      Black Ethernet Cable - Only use me if you want to create a wired connection from you Sky router to you computer

      White Ethernet Cable - Plug one end of me into the back of the Openreach modem and the other ends into one of the yellow ports on the back of the Sky router.

      Router Firmware Version: 5.27.1a4N
      ADSL Firmware Version: A2pD030n.d23b
      Ip Address Range: xxx.xxx.xxx.2 to xxx.xxx.xxx.254
      Lan Speed: 100Mb/s

      I cannot find anywhere in the router settings the username and password so this would suggest that Sky are keeping these hidden as before.
      The question now is.... will the username and password extractor work.. please say yes and I will send you some mini eggs... It kinda sucks you are taking up one of the ports to connect it to the open reach modem and no dedicated port...

    9. #77
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Ipster View Post
      The question now is.... will the username and password extractor work.. please say yes and I will send you some mini eggs... It kinda sucks you are taking up one of the ports to connect it to the open reach modem and no dedicated port...
      no idea on the extractor. i agree that not having a dedicated port sucks, as this may impact on some peoples set up. However, with my set up i only need 2, one for my desktop and the other for the Sky HD box.

    10. #78
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      To be fair, 5-Port Switches only cost around 5 these days.

      I am more disappointed that Sky hasn't invested more in a router that supports USB ports, 1Gbit LAN and 300Mb/s WiFi.
      Moxey likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #79
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Any chance of a picture of the rear of the router please?
      gorebrush likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      gorebrush (13-02-12)

    13. #80
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      So basically I will get one of those modems and I could plug in whatever router I wanted behind it now without any issues? Will Sky insist on what router is in the BTO modem?

     

     
    Page 8 of 111 FirstFirst ... 6789101858108 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION