Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 79 of 111 FirstFirst ... 2969777879808189 ... LastLast
    Results 781 to 790 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by zAerokill I really can't wait for this upgrade. My internet is so bad it's a joke. My ...

    1. #781
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by zAerokill View Post
      I really can't wait for this upgrade. My internet is so bad it's a joke. My line has been said to have been enabled with FTTC technology; but I can't get it right now.

      Really hoping I can get some sort of upgrade soon before I rip my hair out.
      Ouch. That's painful.

      EDIT: The 0.03mbps. Pulling your hair out is probably uncomfortable too.
      Last edited by fazedup; 07-03-12 at 06:55 PM.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #782
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by morgee View Post
      I was set up on Monday morning. 5-03-12
      Ping seems to be fluctuating up and down between 12 and 14 so fairly stable.
      Many thanks. Has your router or modem re-booted since install? I was set up friday 2nd then at some point on sunday am my ping doubled. the only router & modem re-sync was done on Friday

    4. #783
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by zAerokill View Post
      I really can't wait for this upgrade. My internet is so bad it's a joke. My line has been said to have been enabled with FTTC technology; but I can't get it right now.

      Really hoping I can get some sort of upgrade soon before I rip my hair out.
      We have been waiting on you reporting what happened when you phoned Sky, as you said you would in this thread-
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...tml#post347701

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #784
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      We have been waiting on you reporting what happened when you phoned Sky, as you said you would in this thread-
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...tml#post347701
      You and Scubbie should offer a consultation service lol. I think alot of people who have poor speeds seem to think that FTTC will fix all that but if you have a fault or a dodgy extension the problem will still be there unless its fixed.

    6. #785
      morgee's Avatar
      morgee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Silver Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Burnham, Slough.
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Many thanks. Has your router or modem re-booted since install? I was set up friday 2nd then at some point on sunday am my ping doubled. the only router & modem re-sync was done on Friday
      Yes it has been re booted. Needed to unplug the modem and router as they needed an extension cable as where they are sited there is only a dual socket and I needed three. ('phone. modem and router). When the install was done I used a different extension and then unplugged everything to change it for a shorter one the following day. HTH.

    7. #786
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      holy crap, that is a brilliant ping, i've only had one good result out of pingtest and that was 16ms with 1ms jitter, the rest are in the 30's

      EDIT: scrap that.

      my mac hates pingtest.net 34ms ping 1ms jitter (same wired or wireless)

      ping bbc.co.uk on mac is 15ms, pc is 13ms

      pingtest.net on pc is:

      Last edited by andrewjr; 08-03-12 at 07:57 AM.
      Angel_Rex and morgee like this.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    8. #787
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Been on a week now. No problems with the service but i just want to say that the router is worse than the dlink i had before. To the point that i have connected my bt homehub to the sagem as wireless acess point. I now have fantastic wifi signal all over the house. Thanks scubbie for the info on how to connect them together. The only thing different is that the home hub set its own ip as 192.168.1.254 and the sagem picked it up with no issues

    9. #788
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by dj_smurph View Post
      Been on a week now. No problems with the service but i just want to say that the router is worse than the dlink i had before. To the point that i have connected my bt homehub to the sagem as wireless acess point. I now have fantastic wifi signal all over the house. Thanks scubbie for the info on how to connect them together. The only thing different is that the home hub set its own ip as 192.168.1.254 and the sagem picked it up with no issues
      This is a known issue with some HomeHubs. There is a link further down the 1st page to Tom's guide for the HomeHubs. Essentially the way around it is to change the IP Address of the Sagem, but to still disable the DHCP Server on the BT HomeHub.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #789
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Just to clarify the home hub connect to the sagem as a wap with no need to change any settings on the sagem. It was acutally easier than the guide.

    11. #790
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by dj_smurph View Post
      Just to clarify the home hub connect to the sagem as a wap with no need to change any settings on the sagem. It was acutally easier than the guide.
      No problem, and I think I know why the HomeHub is working, but if you wish to share files between two computers over your home network (1 on the Sagem, the other on the HomeHub), then both should be on the same address range to make it a little easier.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 79 of 111 FirstFirst ... 2969777879808189 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION