Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 69 of 111 FirstFirst ... 1959676869707179 ... LastLast
    Results 681 to 690 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As for Telnet.. I wouldnt know where to start. Im an Apple Fan...lol I like things that "just works" with ...

    1. #681
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      As for Telnet.. I wouldnt know where to start. Im an Apple Fan...lol I like things that "just works" with little fuss. <please feel free to mac bash here>
      If you were a real fan you would know that there are telnet clients available for Macs.

      Download MacTerm for Mac - Terminal emulator for both local and remote shells. MacUpdate.com

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #682
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you were a real fan you would know that there are telnet clients available for Macs.

      Download MacTerm for Mac - Terminal emulator for both local and remote shells. MacUpdate.com
      lol, nice app .. but you like to teach me how to use it With my line stats I doubt I could get much more out of it.

    4. #683
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      dropping 1kb or having the same ip?

      I didnt power cycle the router or modem so it normally takes 60 secs do cause an ip to swap doesnt it? certainly did on adsl.

      I am hoping the ping will drop back down... i wont hold me breath tho


      LOL Really wish i hadnt reset it now as it made no difference... now have no idea if the disconnnect could have changed anything

      ahhhhhh some ppl are never happy (namely me).

      Still, loving the speed


      i rebooted both my modem and router during the first 10 days and a lot yesterday when trying to use the airport extreme with no ill effects.

      as others have said a higher ping is probably due to congestion
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. #684
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Ipster View Post
      lol, nice app .. but you like to teach me how to use it With my line stats I doubt I could get much more out of it.
      All the Sky routers have Telnet disabled.

      If you have a on-Sky router, then could I suggest that you start a new thread in the Technical section?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #685
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      All the Sky routers have Telnet disabled.

      If you have a on-Sky router, then could I suggest that you start a new thread in the Technical section?
      Oh don't worry, I have no intention of doing something I dont really need to or really understand. My connection is the best it has ever been... Im not going to tempt fate.

    7. #686
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Over 72 hours no sign of dlm working everything workung well. Especially on ps3 mw3 and gt5 online is smoother than ever with loading times to online games more than halved. Now i have my fingers crossed for sky to to turn the taps up on lauch
      Angel_Rex likes this.

    8. #687
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by dj_smurph View Post
      Over 72 hours no sign of dlm working everything workung well. Especially on ps3 mw3 and gt5 online is smoother than ever with loading times to online games more than halved. Now i have my fingers crossed for sky to to turn the taps up on lauch
      Go one tease us one more time with your speed and pingsssss Nice to hear everything is working well!
      Angel_Rex likes this.

    9. #688
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Ipster View Post
      Go one tease us one more time with your speed and pingsssss Nice to hear everything is working well!
      Ipster likes this.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #689
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      was 10 ms

      now:



      Go on say it.... i'm such a girl

      On the plus side, it took 17 seconds to download 102mb from gamershell servers! was about 4.4/4.5mb/s.

      Thank you sky!
      Ipster likes this.

    11. #690
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Go on say it.... i'm such a girl
      You're a girl!
      ...and you're teasing all those tech hungry men reading the thread.
      Ipster likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 69 of 111 FirstFirst ... 1959676869707179 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION