Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 60 of 111 FirstFirst ... 1050585960616270110 ... LastLast
    Results 591 to 600 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It would be interesting to know if indeed that is the reason. When you do try it, could you please ...

    1. #591
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      It would be interesting to know if indeed that is the reason. When you do try it, could you please replicate what you did today first, the try without the TC to see what happens.

      You may have discovered an issue by accident that we should be aware of on the forum for others.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #592
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Just tried it again, I have no patience. Tried it with the tc on port 2 and didn't work however the broadband light was red. I then tried it without the time capsule and it still didn't work. I had a look round the router settings and without doing anything it suddenly burst into life. I then disconnected wifi on the sagem router and plugged my tc back in. All worked fine. I just think the new routers mac address just need a bit of time to authenticate with Sky.

    4. #593
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Wont be happy if I get a drop in sync speed at 2.30am

    5. #594
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Thank you for retrying.

      I suspect that you are used to the D-Link connecting quickly. It is possible that the Sagem has taken its time to connect as you have an MER connection. From experience this takes a little longer to establish than when your router only connects on PPPoA.

      You should be able to leave the new router connected all the time now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #595
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by paulkerdot View Post
      I am still on dlm so don't want to reboot again today. I think I may have thought of why it didn't work. I plugged my time capsule into port 1 of the sagem router. Thinking about it Port 1 is for connection to the open reach modem. Ill try connecting my TC to another port tomorrow.
      Oh tease... you could try your TC set up on PPoE and see if allows you to use it instead of the Sky Router. You would need to extract your username and password first tho...

    7. #596
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Thank you for retrying.

      I suspect that you are used to the D-Link connecting quickly. It is possible that the Sagem has taken its time to connect as you have an MER connection. From experience this takes a little longer to establish than when your router only connects on PPPoA.

      You should be able to leave the new router connected all the time now.
      To add to the connundrum I was on a mer connection beforehand.

    8. #597
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Ipster View Post
      Oh tease... you could try your TC set up on PPoE and see if allows you to use it instead of the Sky Router. You would need to extract your username and password first tho...
      Im still on an adsl service remember
      Scubbie likes this.

    9. #598
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by paulkerdot View Post
      Im still on an adsl service remember
      lol, oh yeah! Oh well... oneday soon... Im sure someone will put me out of my misery

    10. #599
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by paulkerdot View Post
      To add to the connundrum I was on a mer connection beforehand.
      Fair comment.

      Perhaps the Sagem just takes a little longer to sync compared to the D-Link. The important thing is that now it is working and you should be fine.

      In the mean time, please do extract the log in details to see if you can use your TC when you finally get connected. There are many who would love to know if we can connect our own routers on SBUF.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #600
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Fyi Im on sky llu and unlimited before fiber. My Sagem F@ST 2504n wouldn't sync ADSL only fiber.
      Last edited by Angel_Rex; 02-03-12 at 11:40 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION