Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 59 of 111 FirstFirst ... 949575859606169109 ... LastLast
    Results 581 to 590 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I cant remember where i read it now but i got mid April from somewhere...

    1. #581
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I cant remember where i read it now but i got mid April from somewhere


    2. Advertisement
    3. #582
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Mr Mot View Post
      I got a call an hour or so ago from the fibre team offering me they chance to sign up.

      I politely declined...

      I didn't really haha, got an engineer date of 19/3/12.

      Spoke to a well informed guy called Matthew.

      I'm not sure if it's relevant or not but I'm Cannock, staffs. We've been live for fibre since mid December.
      I'm jealous! I'm in Hednesford and have been patiently waiting ever since the service went live (Sept '10!)
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    4. #583
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Moxey View Post
      I cant remember where i read it now but i got mid April from somewhere
      It might be, I can't remember. However it will happen and is just a matter of weeks away now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #584
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I remember Andrew saying that his new sky router worked on adsl before fibre got activated. I got my fibre router today but it would not work on my adsl. I suppose the difference is that he was on virgin beforehand and he tried it the day before he was being activated. I am already on sky adsl and my activation date is in 11 days time.

    6. #585
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Very strange. Another member also commented that he was able to connect the router and test it on his Sky ADSL broadband connection before he went live with SBUF.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #586
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Sky called me and said I'm the first sky fiber customer on the uckfield exchange! Been so stable and FAST! XX. Thanks sky.
      This backs up what i already said

    8. #587
      darrenmdr's Avatar
      darrenmdr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Very strange. Another member also commented that he was able to connect the router and test it on his Sky ADSL broadband connection before he went live with SBUF.
      Yes mine worked straight away on the ADSL and then on the Fibre too.

    9. #588
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by darrenmdr View Post
      Yes mine worked straight away on the ADSL and then on the Fibre too.
      Were you on Sky before your fibre order?

    10. #589
      darrenmdr's Avatar
      darrenmdr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Yes been with SKY since they started doing broadband. I just unplugged the old netgear box and plugged the new Sagem in. Worked straight away, only difference being the name of the connection. When the BT box was set up, just plugged in the Sagem with the ethernet cable and away.

    11. #590
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I am still on dlm so don't want to reboot again today. I think I may have thought of why it didn't work. I plugged my time capsule into port 1 of the sagem router. Thinking about it Port 1 is for connection to the open reach modem. Ill try connecting my TC to another port tomorrow.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION