Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 48 of 111 FirstFirst ... 3846474849505898 ... LastLast
    Results 471 to 480 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; just got the call.from the bto engineer. He is about to do the switch at his end and he will ...

    1. #471
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      just got the call.from the bto engineer. He is about to do the switch at his end and he will be with me in 20mins.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #472
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Double post
      Last edited by dj_smurph; 29-02-12 at 01:19 PM. Reason: double post

    4. #473
      darrenmdr's Avatar
      darrenmdr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      The BT modem should be next to the master socket. The Sky router can be put anywhere you want in the house, provided you have an ethernet cable long enough. In fact I'm sure that the Bt Modem, provided you have an extension kit could be placed further away from the master socket too, but I'm not sure whether an extension Kit would be included in the set up cost. Is it the cabling or the power aspect that is the potential problem?

    5. #474
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Some of us have the master socket in the hall next to the front door with no power sockets at all so will need the modem fitting somewhere else, in BTO's documentation there is provision for either the master socket being moved (not an option in my case) or int/ext extension cabling running to a more suitable location but this seems to be down to the CP's to request if they wish to allow those options.

      With regards to having Sky Fiber installed, we are still awaiting any reported first hand experience of this situation and how it will be handled.

    6. #475
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      If they ever get round to ringing me, I'll let you know Moxey, as I'm in that situation

    7. #476
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Right modem went in with no problems. Everthing was connected and woeked straight iff. He did install a new nte socket including backplate. Gonna let everthing settle and do a speed test when i get home from work.
      Stumpy, Moxey and Ipster like this.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to dj_smurph For This Useful Post:

      Paul2003 (29-02-12)

    9. #477
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      right just got home. Done a speed test 20meg down and 2meg up. Its going up as it was 8meg down and 1meg up. So things are looking good.

    10. #478
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by dj_smurph View Post
      right just got home. Done a speed test 20meg down and 2meg up. Its going up as it was 8meg down and 1meg up. So things are looking good.
      glad its installed. confused about the speed tho. mine was at full speed as soon as it was connected
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    11. #479
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by dj_smurph View Post
      right just got home. Done a speed test 20meg down and 2meg up. Its going up as it was 8meg down and 1meg up. So things are looking good.
      Sounds more like an ADSL2+ connection.


      Could you post your router's stats please?

      How to get your router statistics - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky!

      P.S. Also please update your SkyUser profile

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #480
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      There is no attenuation or snr figured from the router. Just trying to work out how to get stats from the modem. Altough i have just recieved a call from sky fibre asking if all was okband she said i was the first on my exchange to be connected to sky fibre

     

     
    Page 48 of 111 FirstFirst ... 3846474849505898 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION