Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 46 of 111 FirstFirst ... 3644454647485696 ... LastLast
    Results 451 to 460 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, getting my fibre fitted tomorrow....quick question..will my 10/100 ethernet switch still be usable (needed an extra port for ...

    1. #451
      barriead's Avatar
      barriead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: King Henry St Portsmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Southsea Hants
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Hi all, getting my fibre fitted tomorrow....quick question..will my 10/100 ethernet switch still be usable (needed an extra port for my bluray player) or will I require another type...the one I have works fine with my present sagem modem on normal sky broadband.
      Thanks
      Barrie


    2. Advertisement
    3. #452
      darrenmdr's Avatar
      darrenmdr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by barriead View Post
      Hi all, getting my fibre fitted tomorrow....quick question..will my 10/100 ethernet switch still be usable (needed an extra port for my bluray player) or will I require another type...the one I have works fine with my present sagem modem on normal sky broadband.
      Thanks
      Barrie
      Should be fine. The only issue I've had is having to switch my homeplugs on and off and reset the wireless printer. Everything on your network should just work as it did before. But faster.

    4. #453
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by barriead View Post
      Hi all, getting my fibre fitted tomorrow....quick question..will my 10/100 ethernet switch still be usable (needed an extra port for my bluray player) or will I require another type...the one I have works fine with my present sagem modem on normal sky broadband.
      The switch be be just fine.

      If you have a different IP Address range to Sky's default (192.168.0.nnn) set on your current router, then you can easily change the new router to match. Otherwise just rest the Switch once it has been connected to the new router. To reset the switch, just unplug it for around 30 seconds. This will allow your Blu-Ray to search for a new IP Address when the switch is powered up again, along with anything else connected to it (i.e. the Sky+ HD STB).

      For reference the Sagem 2504N router also has a 10/100 LAN. Should it be a 1Gbit LAN, the switch would still work.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #454
      darrenmdr's Avatar
      darrenmdr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Looking good

      I am hoping I get a ping of 16ms like Andrew!

      Darren could you also do a ping test to www. bbc.co.uk?

      Ahhh Is it Friday yet? 8am-1pm is such a long time away



      .............Although this does seem ungrateful as atleast i have it coming.... I feel sorry for the people who are still awaiting a FTTC date!
      Getting a minimum of 12ms and max of 13 at the moment but it's been between 7ms and 20ms. I'm going to stop testing it for a while and just enjoy it for a bit.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

    6. #455
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Ninja'd! As above.

      Edit: For those who are interested, a very useful site, packed with quite alot of info and resources for the BTO VDSL Modem, Huawei HG612.
      http://huaweihg612hacking.wordpress.com/
      Last edited by fazedup; 28-02-12 at 02:46 PM.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to fazedup For This Useful Post:

      Stumpy (28-02-12)

    8. #456
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by darrenmdr View Post
      All set up, glad I configured the router before the engineer came. 20 minutes and all set.

      Just waiting to see what ~I get left with when everything settles down, but so far so good.
      yeah, welcome to the club
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. #457
      barriead's Avatar
      barriead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: King Henry St Portsmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Southsea Hants
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Thanks for answers ...why do I have a feeling of dread when I change anything like this...still onwards and upwards...roll on tomorrow and hope BTO come nice and early so I have rest of day to have a little play...now I am worried my webroot software might take offence to new item...oh dear must stop worrying...

      Regards
      Barrie

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The switch be be just fine.

      If you have a different IP Address range to Sky's default (192.168.0.nnn) set on your current router, then you can easily change the new router to match. Otherwise just rest the Switch once it has been connected to the new router. To reset the switch, just unplug it for around 30 seconds. This will allow your Blu-Ray to search for a new IP Address when the switch is powered up again, along with anything else connected to it (i.e. the Sky+ HD STB).

      For reference the Sagem 2504N router also has a 10/100 LAN. Should it be a 1Gbit LAN, the switch would still work.

    10. #458
      Gadget.man's Avatar
      Gadget.man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I noticed an open reach engineer was at one of my neighbours i wonder if he's having fibre installed.
      They always seem to be around these days fiddling with the green cabinets or just parked up somwhere. Perhaps its just that i'm taking more of an interest when i see them while before it meant nothing.

    11. #459
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I get the impression that this forum has more than a few members who are stalkers.
      Moxey, Ipster, Gadget.man and 1 others like this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #460
      morgee's Avatar
      morgee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Silver Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Burnham, Slough.
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Ooh, Monday morning. Getting closer.
      Then I suppose I will have to pay more attention to the other threads about setting it all up for my bestest advantage. Not that I understand any of the techno babble being spoken lol. MER etc, might as well be a foriegn language.

     

     
    Page 46 of 111 FirstFirst ... 3644454647485696 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION