Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 37 of 111 FirstFirst ... 2735363738394787 ... LastLast
    Results 361 to 370 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by gorebrush I would consider buying a router that can do QoS and stick that behind a fibre ...

    1. #361
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      I would consider buying a router that can do QoS and stick that behind a fibre connection.. prioritise things like Xbox and make uploading to youtube Best Effort..
      I am hoping Scubbie can talk someone into trying alternative equipment too..


    2. Advertisement
    3. #362
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      To be honest, I don't think Sky will want to leave it at 40Mb for too long given that BT Infinity (It's biggest competitor I'd say) is offering 80 shortly.
      morgee likes this.

    4. #363
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      I would consider buying a router that can do QoS and stick that behind a fibre connection.. prioritise things like Xbox and make uploading to youtube Best Effort..
      Ive got my eye on a Draytek Vigor 2750, they seem to be doing the business for alot of Infinity users.

      Ive not had chance to read all this thread so apologies, but whats the score with one using their own router with Sky's fibre product ?
      Ive got a dlink 4500 cable router id prefer to use over the sky sagems if we HAVE to use the openreach modem.

      Ideally id like an all in one VDSL router like the Draytek mentioned above.

      Gonna be a tough call this one... Infinity or Sky.
      Loved the stability and constant speed of my Sky connection, but im swaying to BT for extra upload & fastpath, i dont torrent so the top BT package should be just as good as Sky... Ive not read any reports of congestion or peak slowdowns on it (as of yet)

    5. #364
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Well if you were to buy an Ethernet router and just put it behind the Sky one, you can do what you like and still use the Sky equipment...
      Angel_Rex likes this.

    6. #365
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Well if you were to buy an Ethernet router and just put it behind the Sky one, you can do what you like and still use the Sky equipment...
      I would not jump the gun and buy exotic routers until it is confirmed that you will be able to connect it to the BTO modem. Apart from this, I cannot see Sky using the 2504N for very long, especially if they cannot enable the the internet port to perform as a proper WAN port. Surely using one of the ethernet ports to connect is a short term solution. I think they will introduce either a proper Cable router or one with dual ports which will work with both their packages. Unfortunately these developments are keep secret until they are ready to be introduced.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #366
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Oh I agree

    8. #367
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Well if you were to buy an Ethernet router and just put it behind the Sky one, you can do what you like and still use the Sky equipment...
      Of course, but thats the least elegant solution.
      Id either be behind triple or double layers of NAT (depending on what the OpenR modem does)

      Plan A for me is a VDSL modem/router like the Draytek on Sky.
      One peice of quality equiptment with all the QoS features i want.

      Plan B is the OpenR modem to my Dlink cable router on Sky.

      Plan C is BT infinity and the Draytek

    9. #368
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      519
      Thanks
      82
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Does anyone know where/if I can find out the actual wiring distance from my FTTC cabinet?. Seems that only BT are likely to know and not sure if I could blag the info off them, with an 'apparent' interest in their product.

    10. #369
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      They might not tell you the distance, but if your exchange is enabled, they will give you a speed quote, which is just as good, if not better.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #370
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      There was a short period apparently when the speed checkers were giving above 40Mb results. Pretty sure I saw an estimate of 59Mb at one point, and I'm damn sure that's conservative (how they reckon ADSL Max should only give me 6Mb when I used to get 8Mb on it, oh and 3Mb when I actually talked to them (useless, wastes of space))

     

     
    Page 37 of 111 FirstFirst ... 2735363738394787 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION