Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 17 of 111 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast
    Results 161 to 170 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; heres an interesting turn of events. woke up earlier and found that my virgin media services had been cut off, ...

    1. #161
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      heres an interesting turn of events. woke up earlier and found that my virgin media services had been cut off, so no internet.

      so i wondered what would happen if i plugged my new sky sagem router into the wall and phone line, set it to adsl only and turn it on....and it works!?!?!?

      sync rate has gone up, line attenuation has gone down and noise margins increased?!?


      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3797 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 dB 35.1 dB
      Noise Margin 7.4 dB 15.9 dB
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298



    2. Advertisement
    3. #162
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Where is that BTO Engineer? You don't want ADSL speeds

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #163
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Where is that BTO Engineer? You don't want ADSL speeds
      Yeah, I've since posting turned the modem off as I don't want things to go wrong tomorrow, I'm just surprised that it works.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. #164
      jamilayz's Avatar
      jamilayz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Station
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Hi! I am currenly a Sky TV Customer, has got Sky BB Unlimited, Sky Talk Line Rental + Calls (SVBN). My exchange is FTTC Enabled. How can I order Sky FTTC Broadband? The Download Speeds in our Area are 3.0 mbps.... Can someone shed some light on this?

    6. #165
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by jamilayz View Post
      Hi! I am currenly a Sky TV Customer, has got Sky BB Unlimited, Sky Talk Line Rental + Calls (SVBN). My exchange is FTTC Enabled. How can I order Sky FTTC Broadband? The Download Speeds in our Area are 3.0 mbps.... Can someone shed some light on this?
      If you care to read the thread, you will see that you would need to be registered with Sky for an interest in their fibre product.

      At the moment they are only calling people who have registered an interest.

      Once it is launcheAprilapril, then you can call them and get it installed.

      Please check out the FAQ for more information on this topic.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...dband-faq.html

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #166
      morgee's Avatar
      morgee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Silver Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Burnham, Slough.
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Still waiting for them to call me back. Worried of Burnham here

    8. #167
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I wonder if they're planning on ringing everyone on that list, or just a small selection? I'm also wondering if my form filling worked when I did it a while ago :P

    9. #168
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      nice new shiny cabinet with vents been installed over the road this morning

    10. #169
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Whilst I appreciate Sky are not launching fibre just yet, I would have thought it would have started they hype... Instead of people getting frustrated from the lack of info that they would have changed their website to reflect a coming soon.. this would update people, stop them jumping ship to another FTTC ISP....

    11. #170
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      heres an interesting turn of events. woke up earlier and found that my virgin media services had been cut off, so no internet.

      so i wondered what would happen if i plugged my new sky sagem router into the wall and phone line, set it to adsl only and turn it on....and it works!?!?!?

      sync rate has gone up, line attenuation has gone down and noise margins increased?!?


      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3797 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 dB 35.1 dB
      Noise Margin 7.4 dB 15.9 dB
      Interesting stuff.
      They've moved your voice and data pairs at the exchange to Sky's equipment today.
      Tomorrow they will probably connect your data pair to the fibre in the cabinet which will already be connected to Sky's kit (this was probably done today too).

      I think it's safe to assume Openreach have spent reasonable time today getting you ready for your big day.

     

     
    Page 17 of 111 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION