Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 15 of 111 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565 ... LastLast
    Results 141 to 150 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; going through the bt infinity information page it says i can currently get between 3mb -7mb estimated is 4mb which ...

    1. #141
      Gadget.man's Avatar
      Gadget.man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      going through the bt infinity information page it says i can currently get between 3mb -7mb estimated is 4mb which is about what i'm getting using broadband and with infinity i can get 40mb 10mb i find this a huge leap from the poor 3-4 mb i'm getting now am i looking at this correctly ?

      is this upto 40mb so i could in reality get 10mb ? or will 40mb be the most likely outcome i suppose as its new no one really knows.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #142
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Gadget.man View Post
      going through the bt infinity information page it says i can currently get between 3mb -7mb estimated is 4mb which is about what i'm getting using broadband and with infinity i can get 40mb 10mb i find this a huge leap from the poor 3-4 mb i'm getting now am i looking at this correctly ?

      is this upto 40mb so i could in reality get 10mb ? or will 40mb be the most likely outcome i suppose as its new no one really knows.
      you are looking at it correctly and as you have put that the green cab is only 10m or so away you will get the full speed of 40Mb down and 10Mb Up (with BT) or 2Mb Up (with Sky)
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    4. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Gadget.man (15-02-12)

    5. #143
      uno's Avatar
      uno
      uno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      All users apart from a limited number of Sky staff on 40/10 should be on a 40/2 profile and is instructed to Openreach to check this at install.

      Have been told about a few teething problems which are to be expected and hence the lack of install fee, mainly to do with Anytime + downloads where the box doesnt seem to think connected to Sky possibly due to new IP subnet being used for fibre connections also issues with Samsung connected TVs and Vodafone Sure signals, All of which will be sorted soon just a workaround needs to be found.

      The lucky ones are I am told are to expect some disconnections mainly overnight as dont forget it is still a working beta so tests and monitoring is being done, as stated previously around 100-150 connections a week being offered at present all by telephone

    6. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to uno For This Useful Post:

      morgee (16-02-12),Moxey (15-02-12),Scubbie (15-02-12)

    7. #144
      Gadget.man's Avatar
      Gadget.man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      i doubt i'll be contacted by sky anytime soon as i've only just enrolled on the sky fibre website but its something to look forward to

    8. #145
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by ronburgess View Post
      How do you find your cabinet from the PCP Number? I live in Crewe CW1 4NS and am connected to WMHAS P20 cabinet but I can't find it.
      yes you are connected to PCP cab number 20 which is located here 53.111046,-2.439035 - Google Maps
      you need to check to see if a new green fiber cab with air vents on the front has been installed next to or very near this PCP 20, when it has and its powered up and working (aparently you can hear the fans humming away inside) then you should be good to go.

      hope this helps

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Moxey For This Useful Post:

      Gadget.man (15-02-12)

    10. #146
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Gadget.man View Post
      i doubt i'll be contacted by sky anytime soon as i've only just enrolled on the sky fibre website but its something to look forward to
      and it will be commercially available in April
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    11. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Gadget.man (15-02-12)

    12. #147
      Gadget.man's Avatar
      Gadget.man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Moxey View Post
      yes you are connected to PCP cab number 20 which is located here 53.111046,-2.439035 - Google Maps
      you need to check to see if a new green fiber cab with air vents on the front has been installed next to or very near this PCP 20, when it has and its powered up and working (aparently you can hear the fans humming away inside) then you should be good to go.

      hope this helps
      funny you should say this on street view using my post code only the green cab is showing i've just been out and theres a second cab much smarter looking and new as far as i can tell no numbers on it afew ft away from the original green cab. didn't notice any humming but its on a busy main road. looking hopeful unless i'm hugely mistaken roll on april is what i say

      edit

      just checked what cabinet covers my address using the pcp to postcode report and it is the one i mentioned
      Last edited by Gadget.man; 15-02-12 at 09:03 PM.

    13. #148
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I've updated my post on page 12 (rather than repost) All Ordered up
      Ipster likes this.

    14. #149
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      I was also told, SOONER rather than later, that the upstream was going UP^^
      that is very good news indeed

    15. #150
      imdag2's Avatar
      imdag2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LNUPK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      erm how does the fiber optic enabled cabinets work?

      i have a cabinet at either end of my road, from what i can tell i am connected to the one at the end of the road which is connect to the main road.

      however about 20meters (maybe less) from my cabinet is another cabinet as well as the large fiber enabled cabinets with the air vents etc.

      will the fiber cabinet connect to the one i am on as well or will bt install a separate fiber cabinet for my road?

      the reason i ask this is because my exchange goes live in march,
      and when i type my phone number on samknows and bt wholesale it says my phone line is able to handle fiber from 31st march 2012

      FTTC Connection: download:40,000. upload:10,000. 5ms ping
      ADSL Speed:
      Connection Speed 18013 kbps 1087 kbps 16db 7db attenuation7db 7db noise
      Download: 15351 Kbit/s
      Upload : 957 kbit/s
      Connects : 2891 conn/min Ping: 19 ms

     

     
    Page 15 of 111 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION