Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 105 of 111 FirstFirst ... 55595103104105106107 ... LastLast
    Results 1,041 to 1,050 of 1101
    Like Tree334Likes

    Sky Fibre connection

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by sparky678911 not sure if i shold put her but my fibre went down today for about 6 ...

    1. #1041
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by sparky678911 View Post
      not sure if i shold put her but my fibre went down today for about 6 hours spoke to sky and it was somthing between my master socket and the fibre box at the end of the road but all back up and running now and seems faster?
      Ouch! Out of interest, did a BTO engineer come around to fix it today?

      I ask because they wouldn't normally visit on a weekend, except for exceptional reasons. The can include business, medical and a few others. I would suspect that if this is the case for you that BTO would have come because Sky has a priority on all the trialist lines.

      Quote Originally Posted by sparky678911 View Post
      ok strange thing i just did a speed test and it was saying i was in scotland but i am at the complete oppsite end just out side of london
      Did you get your passport stamped?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #1042
      sparky678911's Avatar
      sparky678911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Netgear R6300
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      no they did not come out must have been somthing at exchange or at the box but y would it say i am in scotland lol

    4. #1043
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      You have a new IP Address. The systems try to place you in a particular part of the UK and it must have been used by someone in Scotland previously.

      Don't loose any sleep over it, I'm sure that Immigration won't be chasing after you.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #1044
      sparky678911's Avatar
      sparky678911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Netgear R6300
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      The other strange thing i forgot to say was when fibre was down i looked at router status on the sagemcom and the network type was showing MER/PPPoA not sure if that means anything or help anyone

    6. #1045
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      I noticed my netgear v1 say exactly the same thing yesterday following a reboot whilst it was negotiating a connection, once connected though, it returned to pppoa.

    7. #1046
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Interesting.

      I wonder if you could trying connecting your own routers with this setup now?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #1047
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by jayhab View Post
      I noticed my netgear v1 say exactly the same thing yesterday following a reboot whilst it was negotiating a connection, once connected though, it returned to pppoa.
      Mine did exactly the same thing, when I rebooted my Sagem
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #1048
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Efc1888 View Post
      Err 4, 7, 22, 36, 48, 49. If they win I'll happily swap houses with you to enjoy sky fibre as long as you throw in a 2m sweetener

      Now I've picked the numbers I'm going to have to pay them!!
      No joy with those numbers last night, so I can't afford to have fibre laid from the exchange directly to my house and my own private high-speed connection to the global internet backbone after all...
      jayhab likes this.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #1049
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
      I hope they allow ppoa!
      My 2504n is still showing MER

    11. #1050
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Yeah mine too
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION