Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30
    Like Tree1Likes

    do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

    This is a discussion on do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i currently have sky tv and sky broadband which i pay (15pm) would i need sky talk as well to ...

    1. #1
      elim's Avatar
      elim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Winchmore Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Asus DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      i currently have sky tv and sky broadband which i pay (15pm)

      would i need sky talk as well to get fibre for 20?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      I would think so. If you have Sky TV you should only be paying 12.50 pm.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      I think my brain must be fried from all this Fiber stuff going on cuz cant think how you would get TV and Broadband for 15 and not exactly sure what Isitme is trying to say either

      anyway
      theres no official confirmation i dont think but it does look as though you may need to have sky tv & talk to take out sky fiber as in the press release document it only listed a price for with tv and talk but then the other column that said N/A for the price only said price without tv not & talk so it is a bit confusing atm.

      so if its only with as it seems to suggest you would pay whatever you pay now for tv plus 20 for fiber, 12.50 line rental and 5 if you want anytime calls.

      hope this helps some

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Quote Originally Posted by Moxey View Post
      not exactly sure what Isitme is trying to say either
      I think....

      Sky TV and Sky Broadband without Sky Talk / Line Rental - 12.50 per month for the BB side of things
      Sky TV and Sky Broadband and Sky Talk / Line Rental - 7.50 per month (plus the line rental) for the BB side of things

      I know I pay 12.50 for the broadband side of things at the moment, but I refused to go to Sky Talk / Line rental. (obviously the TV subscription is on top of that)

      So reading between the lines, to get Fibre, then you have to have Sky Talk / Line rental, I think.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      I'm a bit puzzled by all this fibre stuff
      Sky have said that there fibre roll out will mirror BT's role out of there fibre network, which I think means the new green box's that BT are installing on some street corners that contain all the switch gear.
      So the fact that Skys roll out will mirror the BT fibre roll out dosen't this mean if you go for Sky fibre you will be back on BT equipment again. i.e. a rebadged BT product and if so why would you need to take Sky Talk?
      Unless Sky are putting there kit in the little green box's as well

    7. #6
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      I'm a bit puzzled by all this fibre stuff
      Sky have said that there fibre roll out will mirror BT's role out of there fibre network, which I think means the new green box's that BT are installing on some street corners that contain all the switch gear.
      So the fact that Skys roll out will mirror the BT fibre roll out dosen't this mean if you go for Sky fibre you will be back on BT equipment again. i.e. a rebadged BT product and if so why would you need to take Sky Talk?
      Unless Sky are putting there kit in the little green box's as well
      You'll be connected up to Openreach kit and won't be using a rebadged BT product! This is because where Sky has an LLU presence in an exchange and is also FTTC enabled, they will (in simple terms) take a feed from the fibre from the cabinet coming into the exchange and hook up to their equipment, allowing them to utilise their own backhaul network. While this is not the equivalent of full fibre LLU, it goes a majority of the way to satisfy most providers without having to install their own cabinets etc. With the lines being connected to Sky's network still, they can stipulate the Sky Talk requirement.
      So to summarise: Normal copper cable to FTTC cab > Openreach fibre to the exchange > Connection from OR fibre to Sky ISAM > Onto Sky's backhaul.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      The way I read it is that Sky introduced a new policy last September for all new Broadband contracts. This means that any new Broadband customers have to take Sky Talk as well.

      This means that Sky BB Unlimited Fibre will cost 20 per month, and Sky Talk a further 12.50 per month.

      As the do now for the copper lines only, BTO will manage the copper, fibre optic cables and FTTC equipment between your home and the telephone exchange on Sky's behalf.

      Once your connection is in the telephone exchange, it will be passed to the Sky LLU equipment and from there travel on Sky's Backhaul to the Sky servers.

      Remember that this announcement only mentioned plans for exchanges with Sky's equipment, leaving those who are stuck with Sky Connect living without any Sky Fibre offering for the present time.

      Edit: I see Mystic Eddy has said much the same.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      oh and i made a slight typo its 12.25 for sky line rental not 12.50, keep getting 12.50 stuck in my head from all the ppl saying the fiber is 12.50 extra (on top of the current 7.50 payed for BBU) instead of saying its 20, all gets confusing when ya feeling tired.

      i still blame Itsme confusing me with his 12.50 statement

    10. #9
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I think....

      Sky TV and Sky Broadband without Sky Talk / Line Rental - 12.50 per month for the BB side of things
      Sky TV and Sky Broadband and Sky Talk / Line Rental - 7.50 per month (plus the line rental) for the BB side of things

      I know I pay 12.50 for the broadband side of things at the moment, but I refused to go to Sky Talk / Line rental. (obviously the TV subscription is on top of that)

      So reading between the lines, to get Fibre, then you have to have Sky Talk / Line rental, I think.
      I think broadband without sky talk is 15 for loyal/long term sky TV + broadband customers.

      10 for broadband + 5 penalty for not having Sky talk.

      I think I'd rather pay a little more to go with BT Infinity than have Sky take over my phone service.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      i still blame Itsme confusing me with his 12.50 statement
      I don't see why. NR explained it fully
      I think....

      Sky TV and Sky Broadband without Sky Talk / Line Rental - 12.50 per month for the BB side of things
      Sky TV and Sky Broadband and Sky Talk / Line Rental - 7.50 per month (plus the line rental) for the BB side of things
      You can't under any circumstances get TV and broadband for 15 so I assume the reference was for broadband only. This means the user is being overcharged and has been since the broadband conditions were changed. The costs for Unlimited were reduced some months ago.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION