Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30
    Like Tree1Likes

    do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

    This is a discussion on do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Interesting to see BT 's plans to offer a full FTTP solution for FTTC areas in 2013. The cost of ...

    1. #21
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
      Interesting to see BT's plans to offer a full FTTP solution for FTTC areas in 2013. The cost of installation will have to be borne by the customer but if it's something people want, they will surely pay for it!
      Found the info on thinkbroadband, where they suggest an install price of around 1500 and a monthly rental of 100 for the 330Mb product.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out



    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      geezerone's Avatar
      geezerone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet FTTC
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I agree about the 0845 numbers, there are more on more local services like doctors and councils using them.

      Talk rental is even better value if you pay the line rental (line rental saver) 12 months in advance. It works out at under 120 for the year which is cheaper than any other supplier I have heard of.
      Plusnet are cheaper - 9.49/mth for paying 12 months in advance (113.88 p.a.) and they include 0845 numbers too

    4. #23
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Quote Originally Posted by Mystic Eddy View Post
      Interesting to see BT's plans to offer a full FTTP solution for FTTC areas in 2013. The cost of installation will have to be borne by the customer but if it's something people want, they will surely pay for it!
      Found the info on thinkbroadband, where they suggest an install price of around 1500 and a monthly rental of 100 for the 330Mb product.
      Wow, how much? I'd love FTTP but don't think I could ever get my wife to approve 1500 and 100 a month...
      Ipster likes this.

    5. #24
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Wow, how much? I'd love FTTP but don't think I could ever get my wife to approve 1500 and 100 a month...
      If only they didn't moan as much eh! In all honesty though, the on demand is there for businesses and super hardcore home users I expect.
      It wouldn't be so bad if the rental included a tv package too, but I've read BTO have to get an Ofcom licence for every exchange area they wish to operate a tv product on. But still, FTTC should see most people through the next 5 or so years easily by when FTTP on demand might be as cheap as chips!
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    6. #25
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      do you think it would be better to get sky talk now and then wait for sky fibre or get it at the same time as sky fibre. i got sky llu at the moment and fttc meant to be here end of march

      reason i ask is a sky advisor told me to wait as there are gonna be offers on soon i asked what and he was a bit reluctant to say but in the end he said fibre half price

      i wanna wait incase there are offers but i also dont wanna wait for sky talk to get set up when fibre comes out think that make s sense

    7. #26
      1AlanM's Avatar
      1AlanM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Reading over this thread there seems to be some confusion over Sky Talk vs Line Rental - and they can be had separately.. I pay Sky for my calls but BT for the line rental (was burned by Bulldog in the past and once I finally managed to get the line back to BT I vowed it would stay there as it makes life so much easier if switching providers in the future).

      Will Sky require that you you take their line rental to get the 20/m fibre offering?



    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Will Sky require that you you take their line rental to get the 20/m fibre offering?
      Sky now require you to take line rental to qualify for broadband. This will apply if you are changing from ADSL to Fibre, as it is a new contract.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      1AlanM (24-02-12)

    10. #28
      1AlanM's Avatar
      1AlanM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sky now require you to take line rental to qualify for broadband. This will apply if you are changing from ADSL to Fibre, as it is a new contract.
      mmmm... that now poses a dilemma, BTO have recently installed a nice new shiny FTTC box about 50yds from my house and its calling to me.



    11. #29
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Don't do it...

    12. #30
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: do you need sky talk to get 20 Pm?

      Moving everything to sky was one of the best things I have ever done. I don't see why people are so bothered? Have you ever tried to speak to BT direct these days? Press,6, then 5.. then 6... then sorry our lines are busy press * for a call back lol I had an issue with my internet when I was with BT.. and it was painful to speak to them... well even to get though to them..

      The only thing is that some other companies allow some numbers for cheaper calls, but I hardly use my home line for calls anyway so it wasn't a biggie for me...

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION