Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 109
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sky - new fibre launch

    This is a discussion on Sky - new fibre launch within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; actually many post codes get served by more than 1 cab, mine has 2 for example, the SAU_NODE_ID is the ...

    1. #51
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      actually many post codes get served by more than 1 cab, mine has 2 for example, the SAU_NODE_ID is the cab numbers, it will say {sau id} followed by the cab number {P*} and the percent lines column lists how much of that post codes lines are served by that cab number, if its 100% there will just be the 1 entry for that post code.

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Moxey For This Useful Post:

      thomasjc1 (02-02-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #52
      toekneem's Avatar
      toekneem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EASBF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Quote Originally Posted by Restorer View Post
      You will only have the one cabinet within your postcode. If you want to see what is happening for other cabinets in your area filter by the name of your exchange.
      That is not actually correct. BT do state that a postcode can be served by more than one cabinet.
      That is why a postcode check for Infinity is not exact, it is only a good idea, whereas a telephone number check is accurate.
      toekneem

    5. #53
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Quote Originally Posted by Moxey View Post
      check this link https://www.google.com/fusiontables/...id=S351604JNil
      click options and filter by your post code, this will list the cab numbers for that post code and if it says yes in the deployed column to the far right then it is included in the current plans for this year, unfortunately you cant get any actual dates of when it will be done but it does give the planned phase it should be done in, it seems they are currently on phase 6-7

      hope this helps


      ***NOTE***
      when you put your post code in note the filters are case sensitive and must be exactly as in the document to show, i originally made that mistake and filtered using post code with a space in it and thought mine wasent on there
      so post code in all caps with NO space
      Hmm, interesting. I'm on the CMTIL exchange and due for phase 9a. Now my parents are on the CMALL exchange, but on this site their postcode is coming up under CMTIL too?!?!? Would they deploy fibre to cabinets from different exchanges?

    6. #54
      Cookie's Avatar
      Cookie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Low Moor (MYLOW)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      SAU_ID / Name / Postcode / SAU_NODE_ID / Exchange Only Flag / % Lines / Uplift / Phase / Deployed

      MYLOW / LOW MOOR / BD63AD / {MYLOW}{P1} / 0 / 100% / Yes / 3 / Yes

      [Apologies for the formatting]

      Given the above, does this mean it is likely that the Cabinet will have been "fibred" or have I got the wrong end of the stick?

    7. #55
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Hello All,

      My patience has paid off. My exchange has been fibre enabled for a while now but I resisted the temptation to jump from Virgin (National) to BT infinity due to BT's prices and the fact that they lock you into a 18 month contract.

      Well, today I had a call from Sky asking me if I want their Fibre broadband that they are adding to their line-up in April. Oh yes, sorted it all out over the phone there and then. The equipment is on its way and the BT engineer will be round on the 17th February...can't wait.

      I registered my interest on both of Sky's pages (the very old one that nothing happened with) and the latest one. So if you registered on the latter webpage you should be receiving a call from Sky any day, I was the 3rd customer that they rang off their pre-reg list and the 2nd to take the deal.

      I asked for a discount as I already pay Sky for their TV package, they said that they cant discount the broadband as its a new product and that they would if they could but what they did do was waive the 50 install charge, so dont be afraid to ask.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (02-02-12)

    9. #56
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Nice result!

      Do keep us informed with what is happening.

      You may wish to start a new thread when things start being put in place.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #57
      brianc's Avatar
      brianc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEBDT
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Did the check up on the below link. thanks for that

      https://www.google.com/fusiontables/...id=S351604JNil

      And I get the following

      SAU_ID : NEBDT
      Name : BEDLINGTON
      Postcode : NE225HE
      SAU_NODE_ID : {NEBDT}{P16}
      Exchange : 0
      % Lines : 100%
      Uplift : 5.56
      Phase : 6b
      Deployed : No
      FFTP or FTTC : FTTC

      Would some clever person like to explain what it means please
      Last edited by brianc; 03-02-12 at 10:11 AM.

    11. #58
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      Hello All,

      My patience has paid off. My exchange has been fibre enabled for a while now but I resisted the temptation to jump from Virgin (National) to BT infinity due to BT's prices and the fact that they lock you into a 18 month contract.

      Well, today I had a call from Sky asking me if I want their Fibre broadband that they are adding to their line-up in April. Oh yes, sorted it all out over the phone there and then. The equipment is on its way and the BT engineer will be round on the 17th February...can't wait.

      I registered my interest on both of Sky's pages (the very old one that nothing happened with) and the latest one. So if you registered on the latter webpage you should be receiving a call from Sky any day, I was the 3rd customer that they rang off their pre-reg list and the 2nd to take the deal.

      I asked for a discount as I already pay Sky for their TV package, they said that they cant discount the broadband as its a new product and that they would if they could but what they did do was waive the 50 install charge, so dont be afraid to ask.
      Nice one so did you have to have sky talk with that or do you already have it

    12. #59
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Quote Originally Posted by brianc View Post
      Did the check up on the below link. thanks for that

      https://www.google.com/fusiontables/...id=S351604JNil

      And I get the following

      SAU_ID : NEBDT
      Name : BEDLINGTON
      Postcode : NE225HE
      SAU_NODE_ID : {NEBDT}{P16}
      Exchange : 0
      % Lines : 100%
      Uplift : 5.56
      Phase : 6b
      Deployed : No
      FFTP or FTTC : FTTC

      Would some clever person like to explainn what it means please
      Your local cabinet is planned to be enabled for FTTC at some point in future.
      Once enabled, FTTC will be available to ALL the people currently connected to your cabinet. (% Lines : 100%)

    13. #60
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Quote Originally Posted by thomasjc1 View Post
      Nice one so did you have to have sky talk with that or do you already have it
      you have to take the sky talk, but that doesn't bother me the talk package is free the same as my current provider. to be honest even if you didn't i would of moved it anyway that way everything comes out on 1 bill and 1 payment

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      thomasjc1 (02-02-12)

     

     
    Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION