Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast
    Results 91 to 100 of 109
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sky - new fibre launch

    This is a discussion on Sky - new fibre launch within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Am I correct in saying that Sky's fibre service will run over the BT infrastructure and back to the exchange ...

    1. #91
      Router Fan's Avatar
      Router Fan Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Am I correct in saying that Sky's fibre service will run over the BT infrastructure and back to the exchange where it will be picked up by Sky?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #92
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      that is correct yes

    4. #93
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      This is the same as all the LLU providers do with ADSL products, including Sky. The only significant different is that now Sky will be accessing the FTTC cabinets that are maintained by BTO as well.

      There may be additional changes in the future. An example might be that Sky also gains access to the Fibre infrastructure that other providers have laid down. At the moment this is pure speculation.

      An additional method that has been hitting the press is for Sky to make use of BTO's poles and cabinets, but to lay their own cables. Again the current status of this option is unknown for now, but is a possibility.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #94
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Quote Originally Posted by Mystic Eddy View Post
      Of course it'll be able to cope. BT will be offering it and their backhaul from what I can tell isn't as large as Sky's, so it's a moot point. It seems to be down to rental costs at the end of the day which is why I can see two fibre packages being offered.
      Incorrect I am afraid. Sky will be like Talk Talk and using GEA (Generic Ethernet Access) and will have the Openreach kit connect to the customers home and hand over to the Sky LLU at the exchange.

      So Sky fibre will need to have an exchange LLU for Sky AND have their cabinet upgraded to FTTC.

      Which suggests why they are using the 40/2 Openreach product not only as it is the cheapest of the FTTC products (90 a year from Openreach) but also a very god way of managing the upload traffic load from torrents but keep the unlimited and unmanaged claim.

      Can you imagine what would happen if a few thousand heavy torrenters got onto a 40/10 or even worse a 80/20 product without any traffic management and without sufficent backhaul?

      Also come march BT also launches their 80/20 product and depending on if it is a free upgrade or a small price hike could make the difference to how the Sky package is viewed.

      All the cabinets have had the 80/20 upgrade before christmas and my max obtainable went from 52/22 to 92/32 and I am 200m from my cabinet.

      Also there is one more possible upgrade that could be applied that would need OFCOM permission that would push the speeds from FTTC up into the 200Mb.

      So still very early days for FTTC.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #95
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      Incorrect I am afraid. Sky will be like Talk Talk and using GEA (Generic Ethernet Access) and will have the Openreach kit connect to the customers home and hand over to the Sky LLU at the exchange.

      So Sky fibre will need to have an exchange LLU for Sky AND have their cabinet upgraded to FTTC.

      Which suggests why they are using the 40/2 Openreach product not only as it is the cheapest of the FTTC products (90 a year from Openreach) but also a very god way of managing the upload traffic load from torrents but keep the unlimited and unmanaged claim.

      Can you imagine what would happen if a few thousand heavy torrenters got onto a 40/10 or even worse a 80/20 product without any traffic management and without sufficent backhaul?

      Also come march BT also launches their 80/20 product and depending on if it is a free upgrade or a small price hike could make the difference to how the Sky package is viewed.

      All the cabinets have had the 80/20 upgrade before christmas and my max obtainable went from 52/22 to 92/32 and I am 200m from my cabinet.

      Also there is one more possible upgrade that could be applied that would need OFCOM permission that would push the speeds from FTTC up into the 200Mb.

      So still very early days for FTTC.
      It was only speculation on my part, and to be nit picky, it's not 'incorrect' until Sky say otherwise
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    7. #96
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Sky have already said that it will be GEA, actually the words they used were "we are definately not using WBC" in a statement they gave out.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #97
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      Sky have already said that it will be GEA, actually the words they used were "we are definately not using WBC" in a statement they gave out.
      Um, I never said they weren't using GEA? All I was referring to was my opinion of the potential of there being two fibre packages in their offering.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    9. #98
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      Incorrect I am afraid. Sky will be like Talk Talk and using GEA (Generic Ethernet Access) and will have the Openreach kit connect to the customers home and hand over to the Sky LLU at the exchange.

      So Sky fibre will need to have an exchange LLU for Sky AND have their cabinet upgraded to FTTC.

      Which suggests why they are using the 40/2 Openreach product not only as it is the cheapest of the FTTC products (90 a year from Openreach) but also a very god way of managing the upload traffic load from torrents but keep the unlimited and unmanaged claim.

      Can you imagine what would happen if a few thousand heavy torrenters got onto a 40/10 or even worse a 80/20 product without any traffic management and without sufficent backhaul?

      Also come march BT also launches their 80/20 product and depending on if it is a free upgrade or a small price hike could make the difference to how the Sky package is viewed.

      All the cabinets have had the 80/20 upgrade before christmas and my max obtainable went from 52/22 to 92/32 and I am 200m from my cabinet.

      Also there is one more possible upgrade that could be applied that would need OFCOM permission that would push the speeds from FTTC up into the 200Mb.

      So still very early days for FTTC.

      I had confirmation that the SKY upload will be going up in the next month or so. This was from the SKY specialist Fibre department.

      I have a fibre activation date of the 2nd march. The nice chap on the phone couldnt confirm an exact speed or date but the said it is most def. not staying at 2mb upload.
      andrewjr likes this.

    10. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Angel_Rex For This Useful Post:

      andrewjr (19-02-12),morgee (19-02-12),Moxey (19-02-12),Scubbie (19-02-12),Stumpy (19-02-12)

    11. #99
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Got my fibre going in on the 29/2. I am 50m away from my cabinet and about 1/2 mile from the exchange. Bit disappointed with the initial upload but i guess its to allow the system time to set it self up.

    12. #100
      dj_smurph's Avatar
      dj_smurph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edgware
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      edgware
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky - new fibre launch

      Just saw the 4 times faster than sky ad on channel 4

     

     
    Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION