Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    At last

    This is a discussion on At last within the Sky Broadband feedback forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Like many on this forum, switched to Sky Max & had major problems. Line dropping, rebooting, wireless connection absolutely crap, ...

    1. #1
      Spiceboy's Avatar
      Spiceboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Berkshire
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up At last

      Like many on this forum, switched to Sky Max & had major problems. Line dropping, rebooting, wireless connection absolutely crap, couldn't log into the Skybroadband site to add email addresses.

      Tried India & gave up.

      Found this forum, tried loads of suggestions & didn't find anything that made much of a difference.

      Changed back to my old router & not had a problem since. Been connected for 14 days without dropping. I know it's against the T&C's - but hey - when they fix the router I'll use it. Until then I'm happy with it just working.

      Thanks to the guys that set this site up. Great site & source of info.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      The Netgear routers have had a history of Disconnections!

      Sky should have (if not) done further tests to make sure that the chosen Netgear Router was fully suitable/Compatable?

    4. #3
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,206
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
      @ FibreOptic

      My Netgear 834 never once disconnected me in all the years I was using it.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      My netgear 834gt is perfect on my setup as well
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Judging by alot of peoples experiences, They have had alot of problems with Netgear!

      Fingers Crossed so far I havent personally had any problems?

    7. #6
      Bill's Avatar
      Bill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Highway CMHIGW
      Broadband ISP: Finally...on Max !
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I used a Netgear 814 for 3.5 years, first with BT then Pipex : never had a problem other than a spell of a few weeks (a couple of years ago) when it would lock out. A reboot always sorted it.

      Also, Netgear were running a promotion a while back where they would give you a free wireless card (choice of PCI or PCMCIA) if you had a voucher from buying one of their routers. I had just bought my router, but not from a retailer that was involved with the promotion. Just out of interest, I wrote to Netgear, and sent the part of the router packaging that had the serial number.

      Now, this is the best bit : I sent the letter on a Saturday. On Tuesday (i.e. not even 2 whole working days later) I received a free wireless card in the post ! RRP at the time was about 45.

      Now that's customer service ! If only it would rub off on their partners...
      ...my nice new shiny white Sky router has never once connected. But I don't think that's Netgear's fault.
      Last edited by Bill; 30-10-06 at 10:49 PM.

    8. #7
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I tried to rma a rp614 once to them wanted me to send it to usa and it was going to cost 25 if i wanted a turnaround of 3 working days, never touched netgear since.

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION