Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Cuckoo Oak Exchange

    This is a discussion on Cuckoo Oak Exchange within the Sky Broadband exchange information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I just saw on samknows site that Sky LLU is now enabled at my local exchange. I checked Sky ...

    1. #1
      bulldog147's Avatar
      bulldog147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cuckoo Oak
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 1 x Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Cuckoo Oak Exchange

      Hi, I just saw on samknows site that Sky LLU is now enabled at my local exchange. I checked Sky Broadband checker and stated I can get either Sky Unlimited or Sky Lite with speed range from 9.4Mbps to 16.4Mbps. http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange/WNCKO

      But at the moment my line is with BT 21CN with my other isp and got netgear DG834N router status:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16922 kbps 1279 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db 17.6 db
      Noise Margin 3.1 db 6.1 db

      I got speed throughput of 13742 kbps due to BT Bras IP Profile is limit my line at 14930 kbps

      So, if I move to Sky Unlimited LLU, will I get BT Bras IP Profile ? or will the line get a maximum speed of my sync speed ? Will Sky put my SNR at 3.1dB if I request one ?

      I am 761 meters away from my exchange and here is my speed test result: http://www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk/res...355&v=14534861


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bulldog147's Avatar
      bulldog147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cuckoo Oak
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 1 x Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Cuckoo Oak Exchange

      Hello, anyones care to reply ?

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Cuckoo Oak Exchange

      Quote Originally Posted by bulldog147 View Post
      Hello, anyones care to reply ?
      Sorry, I've been busy

      If that is your straight line distance, then your actual phone line must be quite a bit longer. I would suggest that you find out what your actual line length is as my own line is about 800m long and I get the full 20Mb from sky and a far better Line Attenuation with it.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      bulldog147's Avatar
      bulldog147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cuckoo Oak
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 1 x Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Cuckoo Oak Exchange

      I probably stick with my current isp cos I had solid and steady 14.53Meg for 7 months now. If I move to Sky LLU, I probably get less speed and I was surprise that Sky LLU does have DLM and IP Profile capped and Sky only offer 7dB as the lower target SNR. My exchange distance here: Distance:- Direct: 1.25 km
      (appx)* By Road: 2.09 km



    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Cuckoo Oak Exchange

      You would be lucky to get 14Mb sync at 7db with Sky, so apart from the lower cost/Unlimited down load, you are better off where you are.

      You may get the same speed with Sky but you would have to convince them to uncap your line to at least 18 Mb, then use your own router to artificially lower the noise margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      bulldog147's Avatar
      bulldog147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cuckoo Oak
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 1 x Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Cuckoo Oak Exchange

      Does Sky LLU use Bras IP Profile and DLM ? Can I use my own router as my router is Netgear DG834N (broadcom chip) so I can tweak SNR using RouterStatis. Will Sky provider me their username and password for my router and will Sky+ HD Anytime+ work with my own router or must use Sky router ?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Cuckoo Oak Exchange

      Sky do not use Bras Profiles as such. They have their own set of Profiles which can be set manually or by DLM training. These profiles are sync speed and not actual download speed, which is the difference between them and BT.

      Many use their own routers to do what you suggest. The difficulty at the moment is that the username and password for the latest routers is impossible to obtain as the site which provided them is down. In the long term this should be corrected. Sky will not normally give you the ADSL username and password, although a few have obtained them. Do not count on it.

      Anytime+ will work on any router connected to the Sky broadband network.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      bulldog147's Avatar
      bulldog147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cuckoo Oak
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 1 x Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Cuckoo Oak Exchange

      That's rather silly of Sky not provide any username/password login to customer for broadband. I think I better off stick where I am and wait until Sky roll out to get Anytime+ work with any isp's not just Sky network alone.

    10. #9
      bulldog147's Avatar
      bulldog147 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cuckoo Oak
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 1 x Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Cuckoo Oak Exchange

      My exchange had give me the fastest speed today

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18383 kbps 1279 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5 db 15.6 db
      Noise Margin 2.1 db 5.1 db

      Plusnet control panel:
      Telephone number:
      01*** ******
      Phone exchange:
      CUCKOO OAK
      Estimated line speed:
      8Mb (This may vary between 7Mb and 8Mb) - Checked on 2011-12-27 22:16:03
      Current line speed:
      16.2 Mb - Updated on 2011-12-27 08:25:38


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION