Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Only two movies in Showcase

    This is a discussion on Only two movies in Showcase within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Hi, over the last week or so Showcase seems to have stopped updating. "Unstoppable" and "Battle for Los Angeles" have ...

    1. #1
      Franchise_mark's Avatar
      Franchise_mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Only two movies in Showcase

      Hi, over the last week or so Showcase seems to have stopped updating. "Unstoppable" and "Battle for Los Angeles" have been the only options available.

      At around the same time the Search option seems to have stopped working for TV Guide.

      Any ideas what is gong on? There were some disconnects on the broadband in the last few days, but nothing else has changed to my knowledge.

      Thanks

      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Only two movies in Showcase

      Mine is OK, I have about a dozen movies plus some Sky Store ones, which I object to. Why should Sky put anything on my hard disk then expect me to pay to see it.

      I have no problem with the Search either.

      Have you got the new EPG yet? What box do you have?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Only two movies in Showcase

      Have you checked the signal strength for both LNB inputs?

      It is likely that this may show the issue. I have a variety of films listed as well and have the new EPG.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Only two movies in Showcase

      i have 22 items in showcase. only 3 are films & all are ppv from sky store.

      input 1 strength 100%, quality 95%
      input 2 strength 75%, quality 95%

      i got the new epg this morning, but my showcase has been quite bare for a while.
      a few days ago, i only had around 10 items in there.

      i too have had some internet drop out problems

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Only two movies in Showcase

      Showcase is filled by transmissions from a hidden channel. There are two such channels. One is for the Sky+ STB, the 2nd is for the Sky+ HD STB.

      Only Anytime+ content is downloaded off the Internet.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Only two movies in Showcase

      It always pays to mention the box you have, just in case the problem is with a particular brand/version.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Franchise_mark's Avatar
      Franchise_mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Only two movies in Showcase

      Thanks for the replies, and my apologies - the box is a Samsung, o/s Version R003.047.29.00P and I still have the old EPG s/w Version 47.0.16.1.

      The signal strength for both LNB channels is 100% and the Signal Quality is 90% for both.

      Since starting this thread two new entries have popped up in Showcase

      Aung San Suu Kyi speaks to....
      New Sky Guide Coming....

      I wondered if disk capacity could be the cause. It is currently showing 25% free, but I have recently viewed and deleted quite a lot of saved programmes.

      Mark

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Only two movies in Showcase

      Quote Originally Posted by Franchise_mark View Post
      Since starting this thread two new entries have popped up in Showcase

      Aung San Suu Kyi speaks to....
      New Sky Guide Coming....
      Well spotted! It might be a good idea to mention it in the New EPG thread!

      Quote Originally Posted by Franchise_mark View Post
      I wondered if disk capacity could be the cause. It is currently showing 25% free, but I have recently viewed and deleted quite a lot of saved programmes.
      Typically these issues will be related to the quality of your reception. Periodically all the content expires and you are left with very little remaining. Showcase (aka Anytime, not Anytime+) uses a proportion of your drive space which is reserved for it only. The remaining 250GB is available for your recordings.

      I am wondering with the recent weather conditions if your reception was affected during the storms or heavy rain?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #9
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Only two movies in Showcase

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Showcase is filled by transmissions from a hidden channel. There are two such channels. One is for the Sky+ STB, the 2nd is for the Sky+ HD STB.

      Only Anytime+ content is downloaded off the Internet.
      thanks for confirming this scubbie. it's how i'd always seen showcase but when ppv films started to appear, i wasn't sure if it had evolved into something different for anytime+ enabled / internet connected stb's.

      i'm down to 19 items in there this morning.
      like franchise_mark, i was starting to think it was down to hdd space as i'm now at 27% free (the fullest it's ever been) but as you said, the drive is partitioned so that can't be it. probably just the weather.

      it's a drx890 btw. an earlier 1 i think, with amstrad on the back, 'manufactured by sky' on the top & only the 1 (green ethernet) coloured port

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Only two movies in Showcase

      This morning I have 39 items listed. The list may vary depending upon if you are subscribed to the HD or SD packages.

      As for partitioning, the drive actually only has one partition. The firmware allocates a specific amount of space to be made available to the Anytime/Showcase recordings, EPG listings and other services required to operate the STB by Sky.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION