Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

    This is a discussion on Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Hi, I have just purchased a netgear adapter and plugged it into my Sky+ HD box. I have a DSL-2640R ...

    1. #1
      Dazlil's Avatar
      Dazlil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

      Hi, I have just purchased a netgear adapter and plugged it into my Sky+ HD box. I have a DSL-2640R wireless router and the 2 don't seem to be talking !
      I have gone into settings on the box and under network get the following details
      Local Connection OK
      Service Connection Fail
      IP address 192.168.1.131
      DCHP On

      Any ideas about what I am doing wrong ? Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

      Have you went to MySky account and ensured that you have Anytime+ on your account? You appear to be connecting to your router OK.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Dazlil's Avatar
      Dazlil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

      Hi, yes i have just checked My Sky (in case I had missed that) but it clearly shows I have Anytime+ included in the package ????

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

      Try putting your HD Box into Standby then power it right Off. Wait a few minutes then power it on again. Check your connection.

      Something else to consider - You are sure you are connecting to your own router and not one belonging to someone else? Did you have to enter your network password?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Dazlil's Avatar
      Dazlil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

      I did not have to enter a password so I don't know if it is my router or not. I went to settings on the HD Box, then went to Network, which I thought would show me the different networks available but it didnt ?

      It does say I can manually enter the IP address and some other data, but I'm not sure where I find these, some of the threads here mention CMD mode but I'm sure how to find that on the computer as I'm not very good with that sort of thing !

      Any help would be appreciated.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

      You should have had a screen pop up asking you to enter your network password. Have a look at this instruction from Sky Help-

      1. Press the services button on your remote control
      2. Using the left/right arrow buttons highlight Settings and press select.
      3. Using the left/right arrow buttons highlight Network and press select.
      4. Once on the network configuration screen, using the up/down arrow and select buttons, choose your wireless network from the list and then enter your password using your remote control keypad.
      5. Follow the on-screen instructions to save the changes made.

      Further instructions/advice for setting up the wireless connection can be found here-
      Sky Anytime+ | Setting up a Sky Wireless Connector

      It may be better if you start again. Unplug the adapter, switch the box to Standby then fully power off. Restart the box, wait till it is fully running then check what it says in the Network settings. It should show you have no connection and no IP address. Press the Sky button to return to a Sky page and plug in the wireless bridge.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Hartside's Avatar
      Hartside is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cramlington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

      You know what they say, RTFM!

      Don't plug the Netgear into the Sky HD box if you aren't connecting via WPS. You need to make a cabled connection from the Netgear adapter into you main PC after you have taken the main PC connection out of your router. Start your browser and it will navigate to the Netgear support page via the wireless adapter that then lets you install your network key onto the Netgear adapter.

      From then it's a simple job of taking the adapter back to the Sky box and plugging it in. Hey presto Sky Anytime+ should appear once the wireless connection is established
      Last edited by Hartside; 10-04-12 at 01:20 PM.
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/2050177061.png

    9. #8
      Dazlil's Avatar
      Dazlil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

      Hartside,

      Thank you so much ! Got it working perfectly, thanks for your help .

    10. #9
      Hartside's Avatar
      Hartside is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cramlington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Netgear Adapter for Sky+ Anytime

      No problem, pleased you got sorted - I've got to admit it took me an hour before I resorted to reading the instructions for it. I couldn't understand why it wouldn't work and was just about to send it back to Amazon as I thought it was duff
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/2050177061.png

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION