Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Do I have to pay for anytime?

    This is a discussion on Do I have to pay for anytime? within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I've recently ordered a longer ethernet cable so I can set up anytime plus, and thought I'd have a play ...

    1. #1
      DominicJ's Avatar
      DominicJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01457
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Do I have to pay for anytime?

      I've recently ordered a longer ethernet cable so I can set up anytime plus, and thought I'd have a play with the normal anytime before it arrives.

      At the moment, everything on it has the film strip icon on the right hand side, which I took to mean Pay Per View / Box Office.
      I could understand some of it being available at a cost, I dont have the HD pack, or the movie packs, but Watch and Comedy Central and the like are flagged PPV.

      Am I correct about the icon?
      Abd will Anytime+ be the same?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Do I have to pay for anytime?

      You can watch any content on the Anytime+ service for free, provided that you subscribe to the relevant normal service. You will however need to subscribe to both Sports packs to see any of the Sky Sport content on Anytime+. The same is true for the Sky Movie content (i.e. subscribe to both Movie packs).

      When Anytime+ is enable you will get the pictorial menu, like what Sky are using in many of their adverts recently.

      There are some which are clearly identified as PPV or Sky Box Office downloads. You will be charged for viewing these.

      Another issue for anyone would be their respective monthly bandwidth allowance. You and I are safe in this respect as we both have Sky Broadband Unlimited. Those on Sky Broadband Connect, for example, will find it eating into their usage allowance.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Do I have to pay for anytime?

      I thing the PPV is shown on Anytime and Plus as 'Sky Store' everything else is free if within your package.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      DominicJ's Avatar
      DominicJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01457
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have to pay for anytime?

      So the film strip icon doesnt mean PPV anymore then?

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Do I have to pay for anytime?

      Once you have got Anytime+ enabled, the film Icon indicates that there is a preview clip available to be see.

      As for whether the paid for content is called SBO or Sky Store, there are a mixture of headings available. However you will be advised of how much any charge will be and a pin number is normally asked for to confirm the acceptance of it.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      DominicJ's Avatar
      DominicJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01457
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have to pay for anytime?

      ok, set up, found sky store and prices.
      Downloading AGOT's as I type

      It seems fine with me downloading films from sky movies, can I watch them, or will they just refuse to play after downloading?

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Do I have to pay for anytime?

      A few members, including myself, have had the odd glitch in a programme or film which was downloaded, but on the whole everything as been perfectly alright.

      Remember that to watch films, for example, you need to have both movie packs. This is similarly true for Sky sports material.

      Otherwise you just need to ensure that you have subscribed to the appropriate channel through the Entertainment or Entertainment Plus packs.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Do I have to pay for anytime?

      It seems fine with me downloading films from sky movies, can I watch them, or will they just refuse to play after downloading?
      As you don't have Movies, you will get a notice saying you must upgrade your pack before you can view them. I believe you can now download and watch PPV Movies without a subscription to the Movies package, but you must pay for them of course.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      DominicJ's Avatar
      DominicJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01457
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I have to pay for anytime?

      Watching GoT's

      couple of glitchy bits, but they download with some speed, a minute or so is enough to get an episode started enough to stream.

      Thans for the help

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION