Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Sky Wireless Connector settings help

    This is a discussion on Sky Wireless Connector settings help within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I'm hoping someone can help me. I have two Sky HD boxes and two wireless connectors. The one in the ...

    1. #1
      superpang's Avatar
      superpang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      I'm hoping someone can help me. I have two Sky HD boxes and two wireless connectors. The one in the bedroom connects to my BT Home Hub 2.0 with no issues. The one of the living room is out of range of the home hub but is in range of my Sitecom 300N range extender, but I keep getting the "cannot connect to network, check settings" message. Laptops and mobile devices have no problem connecting to the Sitecom.

      I've tried every combination of manual settings I can think of but I know jack about networking. What should me settings be please?

      BT Home Hub (Network1)
      Router IP address 192.168.1.254
      Netmask 255.255.255.0
      DHCP on (192.168.1.64 - 192.168.1.237)
      There's also a broadband network IP address/gateway/DNS but I don't think that's relevant?

      Sitecom (Network2)
      IP address: 192.168.0.234
      Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
      Default gateway: 0.0.0.0
      DCHP disabled

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      I am not 100% sure, but I think the Default gateway on the Sitecom should be set to 192.168.1.254.
      Are you sure the Sitecom's IP address is 192.168.0.234, I would have thought it should be 192.168.1.234.
      Try making these changes, switch the Sky box to Standby for a minute then back on again. Check if it has received an IP address. If it hasn't, press the red button to reset it.

      If that does not work, try setting the addresses manually in the Sky box.
      IP address...192.168.1.10
      Subnet........255.255.255.0
      Gateway.....192.168.1.254
      DNS............8.8.8.8.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      superpang's Avatar
      superpang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      No joy I'm afraid but thanks for your help.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      The range extender you have can also be used as a wireless bridge. What happens when you connect its ethernet port to the Sky box directly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      superpang's Avatar
      superpang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      Unfortunately I don't have a cable long enough.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      Can't you move it nearer the Sky box, even temporary, to check if it works?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      superpang's Avatar
      superpang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      Not without losing the signal unfortunately.

    9. #8
      superpang's Avatar
      superpang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      OK, now I'm really confused.

      I have a Dell laptop and a Macbook, both connect wirelessly to the repeater without issue. If I connect them to the repeater by Ethernet, I have internet access also.

      I borrowed my parents Dell laptop and this refuses to connect wirelessly to the repeater, much like the Sky adapter. If I connect by Ethernet however, it works.

      Also, entering what I believe to be the repeaters IP address (192.168.0.234 or 192.168.1.234 as you suggest) in the browser, either wired or wireless, doesn't get me the settings menu as it should. If I enter 192.168.1.254 whilst connected to the repeater however, I do get the BT HH menu.

      I looked at the IP settings in the Windows network setup whilst connected to a laptop by ethernet and it had the BT IP and the same number for DNS.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      Do you have a wireless station access list set up? That would account for both devices you can't connect failing. If you have, disable it and you should be able to connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      superpang's Avatar
      superpang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Connector settings help

      No, not that I can see on the BT HH. I can't seem to access the repeater settings any more. I didn't set one up anyway.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION