Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By philwebster95

    Anytime+ with TP-Link 300M

    This is a discussion on Anytime+ with TP-Link 300M within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Hi everyone, I have joined this forum because it appears to provide the most accurate information regarding anytime+ and non-sky ...

    1. #1
      philwebster95's Avatar
      philwebster95 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anytime+ with TP-Link 300M

      Hi everyone,

      I have joined this forum because it appears to provide the most accurate information regarding anytime+ and non-sky broadband/routers.

      My setup is simple, BT broadband, a TP-Link 300m router with the sky box plugged into the router.

      The sky box shows:

      Local connection: OK
      Service connection: FAIL
      IP address: 192.168.1.100
      DHCP: OK

      Do I need to set something up on the router?

      PS - I am technically aware, work in software development, but not a comms expert!

      Thanks to you all in advance, if can be of any assistance on software/database issues just ask!

      Phil


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      boab2791's Avatar
      boab2791 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lennoxtown (WSLEX)
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Milton Of Campsie
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ with TP-Link 300M

      Have you activated the Anytime+ service?

      Goto sky.com and sign in, then My Sky > MAke the Most of Sky > Anytime+

      Once the page loads you should see an Activate button, go through the process and submit. You'll get an initial confirmation of order email and about an hour or so later an Order Complete email. Once you get the second email check Anytime on the box again and it should have changed.

      NB The Red Button stays labelled as Anytime

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ with TP-Link 300M

      First question, have you enabled the Anytime+ feature in your MySky page?

      It can take as long as 24 hours for the service to be enabled on your STB.

      At the moment my Anytime+ is down, which is a first for a long time, so there could be an issue with their servers.

      Whilst typing this response I have manged to get it back by taking the following steps:

      • Using my remote, powered off the STB.
      • Press the on/off button on top of the STB for a few seconds until it was off completely
      • Pressed the on/off button to turn it on again
      • After a few moments, pressed the <Sky> button on my remote to power it back from standby

      All is now fine.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      philwebster95's Avatar
      philwebster95 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ with TP-Link 300M

      Thanks both,

      I was told (by Sky live chat) that I did not have to activate anything! However I have now activated as you both suggest.

      I will keep you posted!

      Thanks

    6. #5
      philwebster95's Avatar
      philwebster95 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ with TP-Link 300M

      Sorted!! - Simple as that (so much for Sky's live chat advisors!)

      Thanks again
      Scubbie likes this.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ with TP-Link 300M

      Perhaps sky will shortly enable the feature for all compatible Sky+ HD STBs shortly. Since you need to have an Internet connection to see the different Anytime+ menu as well, then there shouldn't be too much of a problem.

      A polite reminder to anyone who happens to have a Thomson Sky+ HD STB, Sky announced last year that these would never be updated to support the new file system (code named Darwin) and that Anytime+ would as a consequence not be available. If you have one of these STBs and wish to gain access to Anytime+, then you will need to get a different Sky+ HD STB.

      Sky did offer a free upgrade to many affected last year. Typically they were on Sky broadband only as other broadband providers were not able to stream Anytime+ content. I guess we shall have to wait to see if Sky will do the same for everyone else. Some found that they were also in a new 12 month contract, although they weren't advised.

      An alternative method would be to visit places such a eBay.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION