Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

    This is a discussion on Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer? within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I'm trying to help a friend get their Anytime+ working with a non sky router and it's proving problematic. Searching ...

    1. #1
      sheppy99's Avatar
      sheppy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01788
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

      I'm trying to help a friend get their Anytime+ working with a non sky router and it's proving problematic.
      Searching around for solutions I've discovered spoofing the ip address, putting through UDP port 3700, and putting through many ports including port 3700 as suggestions but this doesn't seem to work.

      Has anyone actually got this working reliably? If so how.

      An alternative solution is to persuade the Sky Sagem router to allow addition of a couple of static routes on the LAN side as well as get it to regularly report it's external ip address using either SNMP or display it in a simple non javascript webpage.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

      It does appear that some routers do not work well with Anytime+.

      Which router are you trying to use?

      I have a Netgear DGN3700 that works perfectly well with the Sky+ HD STB and Anytime+. Another member has posted today stating that the DGN1000 didn't work, but the DGN3500 does.

      As a small issue, just to check things, is UPnP enabled on your router?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      sheppy99's Avatar
      sheppy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01788
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

      Thanks for the reply
      It's a Draytek modem into an Edimax load balancing gateway.
      I've routed all traffic from the sky subnet to the sky broadband and turned upnp on. I've also forwarded ports and it sees the network if I set the sky box
      with a manual ip but it says something like "service not found." A speed test on a pc on that subnet shows sky bb so the routing is correct but I'm not sure what else to try.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

      Are you connected to two broadband suppliers?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      sheppy99's Avatar
      sheppy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01788
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

      Yes 2 suppliers but all traffic apart from one machine goes out via sky bb. Sky bb is a backup for the other machine. It's worked fine for a couple of years with another supplier until sky and anytime entered the picture.

    7. #6
      MixDeeJay's Avatar
      MixDeeJay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Warwickshire
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

      I just like to get what I pay for ;-)
      I admit it is a pain not being able to define the setup the way I would like it, but as long as the backup works out of the Draytek then I can always do a manual swap between routers to get anytime as and when I need it. I can always dump the relevant shows to the Sky box and then swap back to the Draytek for the majority of the time, if you think that will work.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

      One suggestion might be to connect the Sky router to the Internet and connect one of it's Ethernet ports to your own router's Ethernet WAN port.

      Connect the Sky+ HD STB directly to the Sky router and everything else can connect via your own router.

      By giving the WAN port a fixed IP address and placing that in the Sky router's DMZ settings, you should achieve everything required.

      There is talk that later this year Sky may actually open up Anytime+ so that it can be used on any ISP. when this happens perhaps you could revisit your setup.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      sheppy99's Avatar
      sheppy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01788
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

      Curiously enough it still shows service fail but actually works now - go figure!
      Someone mentioned ghosting the MAC address of the Sky router - is this what is written underneath it?
      I can see the wisdom of fastening this up to limit support calls but I sure wish they'd offer a "we don't support this but here are the settings, use at your own risk" option!

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ & Non Sky Router - is there a definite answer?

      Quote Originally Posted by sheppy99 View Post
      Curiously enough it still shows service fail but actually works now - go figure!
      Weird.

      Quote Originally Posted by sheppy99 View Post
      Someone mentioned ghosting the MAC address of the Sky router - is this what is written underneath it?
      The MAC address underneath is normally the LAN MAC address. If you want to spoof the MAC address to fool the Sky servers, then it would be the WAN MAC address.

      Quote Originally Posted by sheppy99 View Post
      I can see the wisdom of fastening this up to limit support calls but I sure wish they'd offer a "we don't support this but here are the settings, use at your own risk" option!
      Why? Other ISPs support other routers all the time and with an excellent reputation.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION