Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    anytime plus - powerline set up problems

    This is a discussion on anytime plus - powerline set up problems within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; HI everyone I've just bought some 200mbs powerline sockets so I can have access to anytime plus. Anytime plus is ...

    1. #1
      gerard's Avatar
      gerard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      HI everyone

      I've just bought some 200mbs powerline sockets so I can have access to anytime plus. Anytime plus is activated, the sockets work as I've got my laptop online using them.

      I've had no on screen message and the 'Network' menu scans but finds nothing. I tried manually entering the info - the network is fine but the second option shows 'failed'.

      Can anyone help???? thanks in advance.

      Gerard


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      A couple of things for you to do firstly:

      • ensure that the PowerLine Adaptor connected to the Sky router is connected to the Green socket as this is optimised for the Anytime+ service
      • double check that the Anytime+ service has been enabled on your account. It can take a couple of days to be processed correctly
      • some adaptors need to be synchronised, check the instructions which came with the pair you have to see if this is the case as one might be connected to a neighbours Internet connection if this hasn't been done correctly

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      gerard (14-12-11)

    5. #3
      gerard's Avatar
      gerard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      I've checked all of those things:

      green sockets used
      anytime plus enabled
      i can use the homeplugs to connect my lappy to the internet

      There are no instructions with the homeplugs. the model number is plc 200m. they seem quite generic.

      hope this helps

      Ger

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      How long ago was the Anytime+ service enabled?

      Also could you confirm that you are getting an IP Address when you visit the 'Network' page on the Sky+ HD STB? Also does 'DHCP' server say 'On'?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #5
      gerard's Avatar
      gerard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      I'm sure it was enabled some months ago but not attempted to use until today. When I go to the Network menu, it cant find anything - fail, fail, 0.0.0.0 and off. Ive tried to manually enter details and the local connection is OK but the service connection is FAILED

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      The Sky STB isn't getting an IP Address. You could try setting one manually, but something is clearly not right. You should be able to obtain the IP Address whether or not the Anytime+ has been enabled.

      Could you try setting an address manually to see if this helps to fix the settings please?

      On the Network Screen select 'Manual IP configuration' and sett the different options as follows:

      IP Address : 192.168.0.251
      Subnet : 255.255.255.0
      Gateway Router : 192.168.0.1
      DNS : 90.207.238.97

      Then press the <Green> button to save the settings.

      If this does not work, it would be necessary to get more information on the PowerLine adaptors that you have. The information you provided before is not the model number.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #7
      gerard's Avatar
      gerard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      Tried but local network not found. will try and get the powerline info. got them from Play.com. no instructions nothing! will try though!

      thanks for your help so far

    10. #8
      gerard's Avatar
      gerard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      my records show them to be powerline c200m

    11. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      Is this them?:

      Play.com - Buy Powerline C200M Ethernet Adapter Kit / Twin Pack online at Play.com and read reviews. Free delivery to UK and Europe!

      What I am looking for is the on-line manual for them. Most come with minimal instructions in the packaging, but normally the full manual is available on-line.

      I cannot make out the writing, but if you could unplug one of them, there should be more information available, such as the make.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #10
      gerard's Avatar
      gerard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime plus - powerline set up problems

      thats the ones - theres no more info on the units themselves however.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION