Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly)

    This is a discussion on setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly) within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I’m trying to setup a TP-Link TL-WR743ND as a wireless client on my sky router and have partial success. The ...

    1. #1
      Frankii's Avatar
      Frankii is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01494
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly)

      I’m trying to setup a TP-Link TL-WR743ND as a wireless client on my sky router and have partial success. The TP-Link connects to the Sagem router however the network is not extended to the Ethernet connections on the TL-Link.
      I want to use Anytime+ and already have a media server so I want at least two connections is the same location, and may be upgrade to a DNLA enabled TV (hopefully).
      Is the TP-Link a viable device or should I be looking at something else. Any help would be greateful.
      Below are all the details (hopefully):

      Sagemcom F@ST2304
      Firmware Version 5.14.6.1a4N

      LAN Settings
      IP Address: 192.168.0.1
      IP Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Use Router as DHCP Server: ON
      Starting IP Address: 192.168.0.5
      Ending IP Address: 192.168.0.254

      Wireless Settings
      SSID: MySSID
      Region: Europe
      Chnalle: 13
      Mode: 54g auto
      Enable Wireless Access Point: YES
      Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID): YES
      Wireless Isolation: NO
      Wireless Station Access List: OFF
      Security Options: WPA/WPA2-PSK (Mixed Mode)
      Network Key: MyWpaKey
      WPA Encryption: AES

      TP-LINK TL-WR743ND Wireless AP/Client Router
      http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/?model=TL-WR743ND
      Operation Mode: Wireless Client
      DCHP: OFF

      Status
      Firmware Version: 3.2.16 Build 110829 Rel.39880n
      Hardware Version: WR743ND v1 00000000
      MAC Address: xxxxxxxxxx
      IP Address: 192.168.0.3
      Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

      Wireless Radio: Enable
      Operation Mode: Wireless Client
      SSID of Root-AP: MySSID
      Channel: 13
      Channel Width: 20MHz
      Max Tx Rate: 54Mbps
      MAC Address: xxxxxxxxxxx
      Client Status: Run (Associated successfully)
      Wireless MAC filtering: Disabled


      Win7 Laptop Ethernet connection to TP-Link

      Static IP: 192.168.0.9
      Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
      DNS: 192.168.0.1

      Performed TP-Link configuration & test WDS setup correctly

      Observation:

      1. On Sagem Wireless Access Station configuration page can see TP-Link MAC address appears in available stations list, MAC address also appears in attached devices list.
      2. On TP-Link diagnostics page can ping Sagem router and PC connected to Sagem via Ethernet.
      3. On same PC can access web interface for TP-Link.
      4. On Laptop cannot ping 192.168.0.1 or any other IP on Ethernet of Sagem router.

      Conclusion: TP-Link successfully connected to Sagem and established as client device, however the connection is not extended to any Ethernet device connected to TP-Link


      - Have I messed up the configuration? Or is the TP-Link not up to the job?
      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly)

      I'm about to do something else, but I can come back and have a fuller look at the manual for your TP-Link TL-WR743ND, but on my first impressions it is a WiFi router, not a WiFi Extender.

      http://www.tp-link.com/english/soft/20106174553614.pdf

      Is there a section of the firmware that specifically allows you to configure this product as a WiFi Extender? Some do, but not all.

      I see on page 14 it talks about connecting it to another router, but I've to read through that in more detail before understanding what is actually going on.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Frankii's Avatar
      Frankii is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01494
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly)

      Hi Scubbie,
      Thanks for getting back to me. I think you are referring to the older revision; v1.0.0
      The first thing I did was check the website for firmware updates, the latest of which had a bug fix for AP Client mode when used with encryption – so I applied it immediately. The previous update introduced new modes: Wireless Repeater, Client and Bridge.
      This is the user manual that relates to the latest update: http://uk.tp-link.com/resources/software/20117199343313.pdf - revision 1.1.0
      With the latest update these are available modes of operation:
      1. Wireless Client Router
      2. Wireless Router
      3. Wireless Repeater
      4. Wireless Bridge
      5. Wireless Client – My configuration
      The manual quotes: “Wireless Client - In this mode, the device will act as a wireless station to enable wired host(s) to access AP.” – This sounds the right option.
      Let me know what you think…
      Cheers.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly)

      Could you try setting up the TP Link as a '2nd router' as shown in the guide in this thread: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      Then configure it to connect to the Sky router via the WiFi please? Which specific option will suit it best I can't be sure, but I would start with the Wireless Bridge.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly)

      The first thing I would try is going to the LAN settings(Para:4.6.2 in the manual) and change the IP address to 192.168.0.254. Leave the subnet as is. The manual does not mention it but there will be a Save or Apply button, when you do this you will loose contact with the router. Log back in using 192.168.0.254 as the address. You might have to reboot your PC or Flush the DNS to get a connection to the new address.

      Now go to the DHCP section (Para:4.8.1) and tick the Disable button. Change the Gateway address to 192.168.0.1 Leave the rest 'as is'.

      I would first try connecting with Wireless Client(5), as you have it set. If that fails then try Bridge mode.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Frankii's Avatar
      Frankii is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01494
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly)

      Hey folks,
      It has been a long week of experimentation including digging out my old Netgear router and testing with that as the root AP – exactly the same results.
      Tested the WR743ND as an Ethernet switch by disabling DCHP and plugging into Sagem – that worked.
      Also tested it using Bridge mode and as AP/Router with WDS bridging and they seem worse – although didn’t pursue them greatly.
      I had also logged this with TP-Link technical support and after some toing and froing have not got any further. They assured me my setup was correct for wireless client node and would expect it to work.
      My conclusion is: The WR743ND successfully connects to the Sagem (or Netgear) as a wireless client (router IP appears in attached devices list) however the Ethernet traffic on the WR743ND is not “bridged” to the wireless traffic.
      I’ve had too many late nights on this so I have decided to return the WR743ND to the supplier as I have received a pair of PowerLine devices – seems to work well enough however given the quality of our electrics I’m only getting 40+% of the full 200Mb – it will have to do.
      I am now waiting a cheap unmanaged switch to complete the AV network.
      Thanks for all your help.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly)

      No problem. I use two 8-Port Switches to extend my home network and this works well.

      If you want a 2nd WiFi hot spot, you could use the document I linked to earlier and use the spare Sky router as the 2nd router.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      ross_007's Avatar
      ross_007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: setting up WDS for anytime+ access (or nearly)

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The first thing I would try is going to the LAN settings(Para:4.6.2 in the manual) and change the IP address to 192.168.0.254. Leave the subnet as is. The manual does not mention it but there will be a Save or Apply button, when you do this you will loose contact with the router. Log back in using 192.168.0.254 as the address. You might have to reboot your PC or Flush the DNS to get a connection to the new address.

      Now go to the DHCP section (Para:4.8.1) and tick the Disable button. Change the Gateway address to 192.168.0.1 Leave the rest 'as is'.

      I would first try connecting with Wireless Client(5), as you have it set. If that fails then try Bridge mode.
      Just registered to say thank you: now enjoying Sky Anytime+ with my TL-WR743ND working in client mode after upgrading it from v 1.1 ...

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION