Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Wireless Connection to Terabyte HD Box

    This is a discussion on Wireless Connection to Terabyte HD Box within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Can anyone recomend a Wireless USB Adapter to plug into the back of the new Terabyte Box. We have tried ...

    1. #1
      Steadyeddie100's Avatar
      Steadyeddie100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01794
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless Connection to Terabyte HD Box

      Can anyone recomend a Wireless USB Adapter to plug into the back of the new Terabyte Box.
      We have tried a cable from the router, without success.
      It does work with the Yellow Ethernet cable, but the router sits in another room, but I dont want to run a huge Yellow cable miles round the house.
      We have a SAGEM Router.
      Dying to download and watch all these movies!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection to Terabyte HD Box

      You can get one from Sky http://www.sky.com/shop/tv/anytime-plus/set-up/ (60)

      Loads are on ebay too sky wireless connector | eBay

      Alternatively get some powerline adapters (around 30) that takes the ethernet cable connection over tyour internal power lines behind the wall up to the router.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection to Terabyte HD Box

      but I dont want to run a huge Yellow cable miles round the house.
      Ethernet cable is available in lots of colours, from black to white. Yellow is just the colour that Sky supply.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection to Terabyte HD Box

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Ethernet cable is available in lots of colours, from black to white. Yellow is just the colour that Sky supply.
      While most will go for colours like yellow, green, red, blue or grey, you can also get it in Pink!

      If the OP prefers, he could easily route the Ethernet cable through a wall socket or use some conduit to hide it as well.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      Awest3's Avatar
      Awest3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01527
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      159
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Wireless Connection to Terabyte HD Box

      I bought a netgear universal adapter from Amazon 34.50 delivered..works perfectly.
      Al

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION