Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Combining Sky anytime and PS3 connection via a router into a homeplug?

    This is a discussion on Combining Sky anytime and PS3 connection via a router into a homeplug? within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Could be a tricky one this! I'll admit I could be being daft anyway here goes... I've checked connections via ...

    1. #1
      mahojp's Avatar
      mahojp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Combining Sky anytime and PS3 connection via a router into a homeplug?

      Could be a tricky one this! I'll admit I could be being daft anyway here goes...

      I've checked connections via a simple homeplug network to both my sky hd box and PS3 and both work ok indepentdently. However when I try and bundle the two (TV+PS3) into one older router and connect that to a homeplug, sky tv falls over with a connection status of fail.

      Incidentally the PS3 still works fine.

      Any help would be great.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mahojp's Avatar
      mahojp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Combining Sky anytime and PS3 connection via a router into a homeplug?

      I've done a bit of research and it looks like I need to configure my second router as a switch, has anyone done this with relative ease?

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Combining Sky anytime and PS3 connection via a router into a homeplug?

      Quote Originally Posted by mahojp View Post
      I've done a bit of research and it looks like I need to configure my second router as a switch, has anyone done this with relative ease?
      Yep...

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      lincoln's Avatar
      lincoln is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mosborough,sheffield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      212
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Combining Sky anytime and PS3 connection via a router into a homeplug?

      i used a simple 4 port switch on the end of a long LAN cable to connect ps3 ,sky and TV set to internet works perfect ,so what your trying to do should work fine if you can make the router into a switch

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Combining Sky anytime and PS3 connection via a router into a homeplug?

      Quote Originally Posted by lincoln View Post
      i used a simple 4 port switch on the end of a long LAN cable to connect ps3 ,sky and TV set to internet works perfect ,so what your trying to do should work fine if you can make the router into a switch
      There are advantages & disadvantages to both solutions.

      • setting up a router as in the guide linked to above, you have a cheap set of 3 LAN ports in a new location, along with a WiFi access point if the router supports it
      • using a 4-Port Switch will provide the same, without the WiFi access point
      • the more common 5-Port Switch would provide 4 ports in the new location, again without a WiFi acess point
      • 5-Port Switches cost from around 4 at the present
      • WiFi Extenders cost from around 40 at present
      • old routers lying around cost 0.00
      • if you are upgrading your LAN to support 1Gbit, then 5-Port switches cost from 24
      • most old routers that people may have will only support up to 100Mb LAN


      Different people have differing requirements with regards to their home networks. Budgets vary and some homes are larger than others.

      The guide I linked to was written to provide a method to use an old router which would otherwise just be collecting dust. I would hope that this is also viewed as a way of reducing the amount that some people throw away.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      Pengwern's Avatar
      Pengwern is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNOSW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      242
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Combining Sky anytime and PS3 connection via a router into a homeplug?

      Why not just buy a cheap 4 port switch and plug that into the homeplug, and then put the SkyHD and the PS3 into the switch?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION