Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

    This is a discussion on ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+ within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Hello, Im having the same issues as most people with getting my sky+hd box wireless for anytime+ without having to ...

    1. #1
      MaxJack's Avatar
      MaxJack is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      Hello,

      Im having the same issues as most people with getting my sky+hd box wireless for anytime+ without having to spend another 60 on skys wifi connector.

      I was wondering whether its possible to just connect a ethernet cable from my PS3 (as its on the wireless network) into the sky+hd box?

      Or maybe purchasing a usb to ethernet connector and plugging in the usb end into the ps3 and the ethernet end in the sky box, would this work? (like this http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/1001...0-etherne.html

      I know I can purchase homeplugs or a wireless bridge as stated in other posts but haven't read or couldn't find anything on here with this question.

      Thanks in advance.
      Last edited by MaxJack; 25-05-11 at 12:15 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      That USB to Ethernet port adaptor would be pointless for two reasons:

      1. the USB ports have been disabled on the Sky+ HD STBs
      2. you already have a 10/100 network port


      A Wireless Media Bridge would perhaps suit your needs well. A WiFi n capable one is available for around 37. You may wish to look for others though.

      Trendnet TEW-640MB 4-port Wireless-N Ethernet Bridge (300Mbps)

      homeplug - Google Search

      Some members have reported success with using a WiFi Extender. You may want to consider one of these instead.

      HomePlugs can be purchased for as little 33.50 if you look around. You may be lucky and get them for less on eBay.

      The final choice in my mind would be using a wired connection. This could be either a single Cat5e Ethernet cable running from the router to your Sky STB or you could look into running a cable behind the wall, with a suitable port for you to plug into.

      homeplug - Google Search

      For this last choice I would suggest using Shielded Cat6 Ethernet cable. In the longer term it will prove better for you IMHO.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      MaxJack's Avatar
      MaxJack is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      Thank you for your reply but I didnt say plug the usb into the Sky+hd box, (as im aware that those ports dont work) If you re-read what I asked carefully

      I said ' plug in the usb end into the ps3 and the ethernet end in the sky box, would this work? (like this http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/1001...0-etherne.html

      Cheers

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      Quote Originally Posted by MaxJack View Post
      Thank you for your reply but I didnt say plug the usb into the Sky+hd box, (as im aware that those ports dont work) If you re-read what I asked carefully

      I said ' plug in the usb end into the ps3 and the ethernet end in the sky box, would this work? (like this http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/1001...0-etherne.html
      Sorry for misunderstanding your question.

      What you are looking to do then is to share your new LAN connection and allow the Sky STB to connect via the PS3's new LAN port.

      I understood that the PS3 actually already has a LAN port. You may wish to check a PS3 support site to see if you can share your WiFi connection through the LAN port. If this is the can, then what you are proposing would work.

      What I will point out, for the record, is that most serious on-line gamers prefer a wired connection. With this in mind, I would suggest that you consider a HomePlug or Ethernet cable, feeding either a 5-Port switch or a 2nd router which you have configured to work as a slave to the Sky router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      The easiest way to find out if it will work is to plug an ethernet cable into the STB and into your PS3. To work you would have to bridge the wireless and ethernet adapters in your PS3. This can be done with a laptop using Windows, but I don't know if it will work with a PS3.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      If looking for something cheap: [ame=http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WA701ND-150Mbps-Wireless-Access/dp/B002YETVVE/ref=sr_1_1?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1306331309&sr=1-1]TP-Link TL-WA701ND 150Mbps Wireless Lite N Access Point: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories[/ame]

      However setting this up can be a little complicated. Not recommended for the faint hearted.

    8. #7
      MaxJack's Avatar
      MaxJack is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      If i was to plug an ethernet cable into my laptop and from there to the sky box, would this work, or would I need to change loads of settings?

      Unfortunately the PS3 idea wont work im led to believe due to the PS3 turning its wireless off when somethings plug into the ethernet port. Will still try when i get home tho.

      Thanks for all your replies.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      It would work.

      My question to you though is:

      Why can't you use the other solutions (i.e. Ethernet cable or HomePlugs)?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      MaxJack's Avatar
      MaxJack is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      I dont want more boxes or plugs, they seem to be taking over!

      Also I dont really want to spend any more money either. I bought some DECT All for One Telephone Extension for my old box sky+, they didnt work. 80 at the time down the drain.

      My PS3 is right next to my sky box in my lounge, but my router is in the hallway and I dont want to be drilling more holes through the walls for a 15m long ethernet cable. Or to have another phone socket set up.

      Also thought if these ideas worked (im not technically minded at all) it would save people money and hassel.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: ethernet cable from ps3 to sky anytime+

      No problem.

      The HomePlugs fit directly into the wall socket, and would be hidden in some cases.

      The 5-Port switch isn't too intrusive and could easily be hidden from view.

      Both items need very little knowledge to connect and get working.

      I have a friend who would moan at the electric cost, but it isn't too much for both of them.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION