Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Newbie needing Homeplug/sky box help

    This is a discussion on Newbie needing Homeplug/sky box help within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I do recall that some Homeplugs (netgear for one) had a firmware issue where certain packets that were needed for ...

    1. #11
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Newbie needing Homeplug/sky box help

      I do recall that some Homeplugs (netgear for one) had a firmware issue where certain packets that were needed for media streaming were not handled properly and so those plugs were useless for media purposes.

      I just wonder if the Belkin the OP has is one of those.

      One thing to possibly try is to get hold of a cheap 5 or 8 port switch, connect that to the home plug and then run the Sky box off the switch.

      I don't know if that would help but with networking you never know.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      gdp1701's Avatar
      gdp1701 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01245
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newbie needing Homeplug/sky box help

      Scubbie - Haven't done that, so will give it a go when I get home this evening. Watch this space, and thanks for all your help so far. Cheers

      Undecided Adrian: I read something similar, somewhere. The Belkin manual and blurb definately indicates it will work with Tv etc. I have just downloaded the latest firmware and will update them when I get home.

    4. #13
      gdp1701's Avatar
      gdp1701 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01245
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newbie needing Homeplug/sky box help

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      I use Powerline adaptors to connect my Sky Router to my Sky HD+ box and Anytime+ works perfectly. I suspect your problem is using automatic DHCP and I would try setting a manual IP address for the Sky+ box (I'd suggest 192.168.0.100 with the usual submask of 255.255.255.0 and the Gateway as 192.168.0.1). If that doesn't work then repost and we can consider other options.
      ok, doing this but its also asking for a dns ???? What goes in there?? thx

    5. #14
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Newbie needing Homeplug/sky box help

      Quote Originally Posted by gdp1701 View Post
      ok, doing this but its also asking for a dns ???? What goes in there?? thx
      You could try 208.67.222.222 (which is OpenDNS). If that fails try 192.168.0.1 and see what happens!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION