Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Home Plugs

    This is a discussion on Home Plugs within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; My router is in another room and I don't want to run an ethernet cable from my skybox to the ...

    1. #1
      diddlyidi's Avatar
      diddlyidi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Home Plugs

      My router is in another room and I don't want to run an ethernet cable from my skybox to the router. I have read on these forums that homeplugs are suitable and the recommended ones were sold by ebuyer.
      However I have found these and they work out cheaper especially as P&P is free.
      Are they the same thing and would I need to purchase anything else.Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      diddlyidi's Avatar
      diddlyidi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Home Plugs

      Hmmm I have just found these on ebuyer and wonder if they might be a better buy

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Home Plugs

      Personally of the two choices I would opt for the 2nd post you made.

      Why?

      I know some members have HomePlugs that work at 85Mbps and they are very happy with them. With the increase of integration with TVs, Home Theatre Systems and the Sky STB, you will gradually be placing more demand on you LAN connection within your home. I believe the 100Mbps or 200Mbps versions will cope better with future demands.

      However...

      HomePlugs don't work well on Surge Protected extensions.

      For this reason I also suggest that you'd be better looking for another version that has a pass-through socket, otherwise you loose a perfectly good electrical point.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      diddlyidi (08-05-11)

    6. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Home Plugs

      The figures quoted for Homeplugs are largely incompatible with other Network devices. The xxx Mbps quoted refer to the speed at which the Homeplugs communicate with each other and not the rate at which they pass data.

      In any case Homeplugs and WiFi have much the same sort of overhead and the true rate of communication is relatively low compared to that inferred by the xxx Mbps.

      One other point to consider is the interference caused by running high speed data transfer devices over mains cable. The lower speed Homeplugs are relatively 'clean' and produce interference at frequencies of little interest to most people but the higher rated devices (200 Mbps) are beginning to radiate interference in parts of the spectrum used by others. Ofcom have largely dismissed complaints of interference from 85 Mbps Homeplugs but has recently been awakened by a report from ex BBC engineers that 200 Mbps devices can/do block DAB radio in certain conditions. If that is proved then higher speed devices may well be banned. Personally I use 85 Mbps Homeplugs and these are more than adequate for Anytime+ and are much more robust than WiFi in day to day operation.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to dms05 For This Useful Post:

      diddlyidi (08-05-11)

    8. #5
      diddlyidi's Avatar
      diddlyidi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Home Plugs

      Thanks. I have purchased the ones from Ebuyer. I'm hoping that it will be straight forward to get the anytime + up and running whne they arrive

    9. #6
      Pengwern's Avatar
      Pengwern is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNOSW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      242
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Home Plugs

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      The figures quoted for Homeplugs are largely incompatible with other Network devices. The xxx Mbps quoted refer to the speed at which the Homeplugs communicate with each other and not the rate at which they pass data.
      That's correct, I use the 200 Mbps ones and they have 100 Mbps ethernet ports. I do see via the usage monitor that when I had 6 of them dotted around my last house that they were all communicating at circa 150 Mbps.

      The next ones I get will be have Gigabit ethernet on them, and ideally also extend the wifi network. But that's only for streaming HD content.

    10. #7
      diddlyidi's Avatar
      diddlyidi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Home Plugs

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post

      However...

      HomePlugs don't work well on Surge Protected extensions.
      Ooops, I'm going to have use an extension. What problems will this cause?

    11. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Home Plugs

      Quote Originally Posted by diddlyidi View Post
      Ooops, I'm going to have use an extension. What problems will this cause?
      I assume you mean a trailing extension, if so these should work OK as long as they are not fitted with a surge protector. Surge protectors see the homeplug signal as interference on the line and will suppress it, usually rendering the signal non existent.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #9
      diddlyidi's Avatar
      diddlyidi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Home Plugs

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I assume you mean a trailing extension, if so these should work OK as long as they are not fitted with a surge protector. Surge protectors see the homeplug signal as interference on the line and will suppress it, usually rendering the signal non existent.
      Yes it is a trailing extension with 4 sockets. How will I know if it is surge protected. do they look different?

    13. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Home Plugs

      It will tell you on it. Sometimes there is a lightning symbol on it to indicate it is a protector. Some have 2 lights, one to show the power is on and another to show the protection is working..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION