Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29

    URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

    This is a discussion on URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; If some of the devices are next to each other, you can get homeplugs with either two, or four Ethernet ...

    1. #21
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

      If some of the devices are next to each other, you can get homeplugs with either two, or four Ethernet ports in them, or you could hook a one port one up to a cheap 5 port switch.

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to fuzzy logic For This Useful Post:

      Confused_Martin (24-04-11)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #22
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

      A couple of points to consider:

      * if the HomePlugs effectively provide you with a link like an extended Ethernet cable, which not piggyback a spare router or purchase a 5-port LAN Switch and place that near to your Internet TV & Sky+ HD STB? This way you would only need to connect that to the HomePlug

      * personally I would always recommend at least 100mbps. This matches your LAN speed. The 200mbps is actually 100mbps in both directions at the same time. I know some members are happy with the 85mbps versions, but with DLNA hinted at and the additional demands of a TV accessing the Internet, along with PS3, I would want the best speed in my connections

      * HomePlugs don't work on many surge protected extensions. There are many that have pass-through sockets and are happy to allow the extensions to plug into their socket. This means that you don't loose a power socket in your home

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Confused_Martin (24-04-11)

    6. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

      What I would recommend is one of these to connect to the router
      NEWLINK 200Mbps Home Plug POWERLINE, Single Unit Pack | eBay UK
      and two of these to connect each of your TVs, HD boxes and PS3.

      NEWLINK 200MBPS HOMEPLUG WITH 3 ETHERNET PORTS

      You could do it cheaper by using the ones you link to plus 2x4 port switches but that involves more power points more wires behind they telly etc..

      Others may have different recommendations.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Confused_Martin (24-04-11)

    8. #24
      Confused_Martin's Avatar
      Confused_Martin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gyntepynte@googlemail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

      Fuzzy Logic, Scubbie, Isitme - thats a great idea guys, and cheaper from what I've planned.

      I was going to buy at least 5 or max 7 single units. But the idea of 2-3port plugs is just what I need I think.

      In regards to PS3, they are connected via wireless all the time so the original idea was to homeplug them as well for better connection stability, but it doesn't make sense as it is still wireless (someone just mentioned to me some time ago that wired connection is better, but I think they ment is directly to the router

      So looks like I need 2x 2-port homeplugs and 1x 1-port homeplug on the router side.


      Guys, Thank You all once again, big big Thank You.
      Everything makes sense now finally and I am going to order them right now.

      Have a happy Easter Bank Holiday
      It was a great experience to visit your site and have your support.

      Kindest regards
      Martin

    9. #25
      Confused_Martin's Avatar
      Confused_Martin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gyntepynte@googlemail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

      Morning everyone

      Just a very quick one.
      I got one of them from Comet on Friday


      ...and my question is shall I plug the homeplugs to this device or to normal individual socket in the wall???? Is just someone told me that is better to not connect homeplugs to one of these devices, dont know why ???

      Thanks in advance

      Kind regards
      Martin

    10. #26
      Confused_Martin's Avatar
      Confused_Martin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gyntepynte@googlemail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

      http://www.comet.co.uk/p/HDMI-Cables-Scart-Leads/buy-MONSTER-GREEN-POWERCENTRE-HDMI-Cables-Scart-Lead/537004?cm_mmc=Google+Shopping-_-Feed-_-_HDMI_Cables_%26_Scart_Leads-_-537004_MONSTER_GREEN_POWERCENTRE&_$ja=tsid:8360|cc :|prd:GREEN+POWERCENTRE|cat:_HDMI_Cables_%26_Scart _Leads

      ....sorry

    11. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

      That is a Monster price for a surge protector
      You are correct, the homeplugs will not work with these. They see the signal as noise on the line and suppress it. The homeplug works best when plugged directly into a wall socket, although they will work with a normal trailing extension, it is not recommended.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #28
      Confused_Martin's Avatar
      Confused_Martin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gyntepynte@googlemail.com
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That is a Monster price for a surge protector
      You are correct, the homeplugs will not work with these. They see the signal as noise on the line and suppress it. The homeplug works best when plugged directly into a wall socket, although they will work with a normal trailing extension, it is not recommended.
      ..and if I connect the extension to this monster then that is still no good ???

      yeah, it was a bit more than i would expect but looks good and quality is very good as well

    13. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: URGENT HELP NEEDED / Anytime+ / can't connect via TP-Link

      No the other extension would have to be plugged into the wall socket to have a chance of performing properly.

      I think if I was going to pay that much I would be looking for a UPS, or does this one have it built in.
      APC BE700G-UK BACK-UPS SURGE PROTECTOR ? 8 CONNECTORS review cheap prices APC BE700G-UK BACK-UPS SURGE TECTOR ? 8 CONNECTORS best buy discount online uk shop

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION