Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30

    sky anytime +1

    This is a discussion on sky anytime +1 within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; when I watch sky anytime. It says something about sky anytime +1 where you Record box sets of whole series. ...

    1. #1
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky anytime +1

      when I watch sky anytime. It says something about sky anytime +1 where you Record box sets of whole series. I can't find this anywhere, is it true/possible?
      Any help gratefully received.
      Gary


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Peepeegav's Avatar
      Peepeegav is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0138341
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      rosyth
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      To be honest the fastest way to get the information on anytime + is sky.com big section on anytime

    4. #3
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      A few more questions as I know nothing about this:
      I've already got sky HD+/movies/sports/broadband/talk, is that everything I need for sky anytime+?
      my TV is on the other side of the room from my router so I don't want to trial a cable across the room therefore I need the wireless option?
      how much are you realistically able to download before you need to upgrade your download capacity?
      What is the additional subscription cost per month?

      I've got MS and spend 99% of my time at home so with this in mind would you say sky anytime + is worth having on top of everything else I've got?

      Thanks for any help.
      Gary

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      Rather than using WiFi, I'd personally recommend a pair of HomePlugs. They use your electric mains wiring to extend your LAN around your home. They cost from around 35 up to 120. Sky's WiFi Media Bridge costs 60.

      In your set up, one could plug in beside the router, the other beside the Sky STB. They vary in price, are normally very easy to install and with the direction things are going, might be a lot better than WiFi in the long term.

      Aim for a pair that support either 100mbps or 200mbps and has a pass-through socket for the mains plug.

      P.S. Provided that your Sky+ HD STB is either the Samsung Amstrad DRX890 or DRX895, then you have everything that you need. You just need to enable Anytime+ via the My Sky page on www.sky.com.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      never heard of home plugs until now, been looking on the web to try and find out about them. If I buy 2, plug one in next to my route and one next to my STB is there then any software configuration I need to do, presumably I need to do something to get the two talking to each other?After that it's just a question of setting up anytime + on sky?
      Thanks

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      Most are already 'paired' to talk to each other. If you were to buy a 2nd pair, then you could pair these to the first two. For those that aren't already paired, they require a simple process of pushing some buttons.

      As far as software is concerned, they do have a web interface, but you don't need to access it. They just plug into your LAN ports and allow you to communicate through each of them as though they were not there.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      Thanks for the information but because I like to fully understand what's going on could you explain how this whole anytime + using home plugs system works please?
      much appreciated if you could

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      I'm trying not to over complicate things.

      Essentially the HomePlugs just work as though you'd placed a long Ethernet cable between your Sky+ HD STB and your Sky router.

      Standard networking protocols handle all the technical handshaking.

      As for how anytime+ works, this is best explained on the Sky website.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      GSM (16-04-11)

    11. #9
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      so in layman's terms, is your router plugged into one home plug and your sky STB plugged into the other home plug, you select a program on sky anytime +, this prompts a download using your router and the home plugs on to your disk on your STB?

    12. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      Yep.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      GSM (16-04-11)

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION