Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    sky anytime +1

    This is a discussion on sky anytime +1 within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; just ordered a pair of home plugs, my router and set-top box both happen to be plugged into the mains ...

    1. #21
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      just ordered a pair of home plugs, my router and set-top box both happen to be plugged into the mains via 4-way adapters, will the home plugs work if they are plugged into an adapter or do they have to be plant straight into the wall socket?
      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      If the 4-Way adaptor is a plain & simple one, then there will be little issue with it.

      However, it it is a Surge Protected extension, then there is a strong possibility that they won't work.

      Personally I have for sometime now used Surge Protected extensions for all my PC & TV equipment where possible. They add that little extra security.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      GSM (13-05-11)

    5. #23
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      so if you're using home plugs you can't use Surge protection, I take it you don't use home plugs.
      I may as well plugged them straight into the wall sockets then.

    6. #24
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      Quote Originally Posted by GSM View Post
      so if you're using home plugs you can't use Surge protection, I take it you don't use home plugs.
      I may as well plugged them straight into the wall sockets then.
      The HomePlugs I have are the PowerLine 902. They have a pass-through socket. This means that I can plug the adapter into the wall socket and plug a surge protected extension into that. Everything works fine.

      There are other HomePlugs with pass-through sockets. Until a few months ago I hadn't really explored HomePlugs that much as the only ones I had seen all had these sockets.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #25
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      I subscribe to everything needed to qualify me to use sky anytime + and I've registered and connected my router and sky HD + using the following equipment:
      LEA NetPlug 200 Mbps Plug & Play Home plugs x 2 on eBay (end time 20-May-11 17:06:10 BST)

      How long before I can expect to access sky any time +? I'm also concerned that I have bought the wrong home plugs, can you confirm these are ok?

      Thanks
      Gary

    8. #26
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      Quote Originally Posted by GSM View Post
      I subscribe to everything needed to qualify me to use sky anytime + and I've registered and connected my router and sky HD + using the following equipment:
      LEA NetPlug 200 Mbps Plug & Play Home plugs x 2 on eBay (end time 20-May-11 17:06:10 BST)

      How long before I can expect to access sky any time +? I'm also concerned that I have bought the wrong home plugs, can you confirm these are ok?
      I can't give you 100% confirmation that everything is fine as I don't know those personally. The cast majority are absolutely fine. However you can perform a really simple test!

      Ensure that your Sky STB is connected to one of the HomePlugs and the router the other.

      Using your Sky remote, press: <Services> <Right> <Down> 6 <Down>

      You should now have the network settings displaying. It should show an IP address. If necessary, press the <Red> button on your remote to reset the connection and to see if you can connect to Sky's servers.

      Once you have done all that, press <Backup> and then the <Red> button to access Anytime. If Anytime+ is available, this will now show lots of mini pictures in various boxes, confirming that Anytime+ has been enabled.

      Anytime+ can be enabled from moments after setting it up, until a day or so.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #27
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      Good news, just had a look at Anytime and it's all working!

      Thanks very much for all the advice, you've been a great help.

      Gary

    10. #28
      GSM's Avatar
      GSM
      GSM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      Question:
      using home plugs is there anyway that I could get a wireless pair of headphones to work with my TV?

    11. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky anytime +1

      HomePlugs are designed to work like an extended Ethernet cable, but using your mains wiring to transmit the network signal between two points.

      I am not aware of Wireless headphones using a LAN connection.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      GSM (19-05-11)

    13. #30
      dflour69's Avatar
      dflour69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hastings
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: TP-Link Archer VR2800
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hastings
      Posts
      265
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky anytime +1

      I've recently bought a pair of home plugs from Solwise. I have been using them for anything to do with comms for years.

      Solwise PL-85PE_MK2 85 Mbps HomePlugs

      I actually bought them to solve a problem with wireless reception for a Squeezebox. The home plugs I bought worked straight from the box - literally plug and play

      However, Solwise gave me a heads up which I have not read elsewhere. Apart from telling me they would not work on a surge protected power extension, they also told me not to use a mobile phone charger working on the same extension as this would interfere with the signal.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION