Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    newby needing help

    This is a discussion on newby needing help within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I have these - they're excellent and mean that you don't have to "lose" a socket. Comtrend Powerline ethernet adapter ...

    1. #11
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      I have these - they're excellent and mean that you don't have to "lose" a socket.

      Comtrend Powerline ethernet adapter with Filter: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

      They are easy to set up and haven't caused any problems for me since I bought them about six months ago.

      I bought two pair ... one is plugged next to my router, one is plugged into a bedroom socket upstairs for a computer, another is plugged behind the TV for the Sony HD DVD player we have (which also connects to the likes of bbc iplayer), and the final one is for Sky Anytime+, if it ever arrives.

      The only thing you need to be aware of is that these are just slightly wider than normal plugs ... you can fit two side by side on a normal double socket, but if you are plugging it in next to a power adapter, say, you may have to move things around a bit to accommodate it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      @Stumpy: Do yourself a favour. Rather than plug another behind the TV, dig out an old router or a switch. This would allow you to have 3 LAN ports beside your TV.

      One port will be used by the HomePlug, the remaining 3 can then connect to the Sony HD DVD player, Sky+ HD STB & one spare.

      For the router, you will need to do a little tinkering. See this thread:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #13
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      Haha .. yes I realised that. It isn't a problem really, as both are passthrough homeplugs so I don't lose the socket, and they were the bought in pairs ... so I would simply end up with one unused.

      Other than saving socket space (which I wouldn't be), or saving the cost of an extra homeplug (came in pairs, cheap, already have them), is there any benefit to having a hub set up there alongside one homeplug, instead of just two homeplugs? (other than the extra port, that currently i do not need).

      I do have one lying around somewhere .. a little diddy thing, but it will just be one more thing lying around - the homeplugs are neat and out of the way.

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      If the spare hub/router is WiFi, then you can also effectively extend the WiFi coverage in your home.

      With today's integration of everything, many TVs and games machines can also connect to the final port. So it may be handy having a spare port.

      The last HomePlug is then free to be used elsewhere.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #15
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      So actually, then, I'm doing myself no favours at all really

      I don't need to extend the wifi coverage, the hub isn't wifi anyway, and I don't need a spare homeplug hanging around doing nothing. I did consider all this at the time I put the whole system together - but I currently have no need.

      I am aware that, if I have a future need, I have the ability to create more connections/release a homeplug - but currently there is no point.

      Thank you for the advice anyway

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      The only three remaining items that might influence how you wire it all up are:

      * electric consumption

      * heat build up

      * bulk of the two HomePlugs hanging out of one socket

      At the end of the day, each layout will work, so it is a matter of personal preference.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      If you don't need WiFi, connect a 5 port switch to the homeplug to give you 4 usable ports. They don't get much cheaper than this
      TP-Link 5-Port 10/100 Unmanaged Mini Desktop Switch (TL-SF1005D) Plastic Case: Mcab: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      weeksy's Avatar
      weeksy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Cannock
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      Hi thanks for the replies. Reason I can't run ethernet cable is because i live in a council property and I cannot drill walls, well thats what the sky engineer told me. As I am disabled I cannot get into the loft to run cable either . The sky engineers could not go into loft either due to insurance. Was hoping I could do the link from skyHD box to router as cheaply and easily as possible. Sky will not give me an adaptor for free even though their engineers could not do the job I paid them to do .
      My only concern with homeplugs is are they a simple plug and play or will I need to do software updates etc?
      Cheers all.

      Weeksy

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      My only concern with homeplugs is are they a simple plug and play or will I need to do software updates etc?
      Cheers all.
      Normally you just have to plug them in and away you go. Some need to have a button pressed to pair them, but that is about all.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      weeksy's Avatar
      weeksy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Cannock
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: newby needing help

      well eventually i said sod it and went for the hard wired option. 20m ehternet cable 2.43 on ebay. works a treat.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION