Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    HD on Anytime+?

    This is a discussion on HD on Anytime+? within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Will Sky intend on using HD on Anytime+? Its SD content seems to be below par compared to the SD ...

    1. #1
      highdef's Avatar
      highdef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      Burgess Hill
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      HD on Anytime+?

      Will Sky intend on using HD on Anytime+? Its SD content seems to be below par compared to the SD on normal SD viewing channels on TV.

      I know Showcase has HD and always had. However does showcase still come through the dish as before or does it now come through the internet connection?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: HD on Anytime+?

      Quote Originally Posted by highdef View Post
      Will Sky intend on using HD on Anytime+? Its SD content seems to be below par compared to the SD on normal SD viewing channels on TV.
      You are correct in pointing out that the SD content is less than the what was originally broadcast via the Satellite. The sound system is less and the video compression is slightly less good as well.

      It is believed that this is to help reduce the bandwidth used by the servers where the Anytime+ is stored.

      In the longer term it is hoped that HD content will become available, but for now it hasn't been forthcoming.

      It is worth pointing out the issues that many members experienced at the beginning of this year. It started with areas of North Wales, some parts of the North of England and parts of Kent. Due to the increase in the volume of traffic, these areas needed a major upgrade to the 'backhaul' system. For over a month they suffered slow speeds, especially during peek periods.

      Speculation has it this was caused by:

      * Increase in LLU subscriptions due to a successful ad campaign
      * Introduction of Anytime+

      Quote Originally Posted by highdef View Post
      I know Showcase has HD and always had. However does showcase still come through the dish as before or does it now come through the internet connection?
      Showcase uses a specific transponder on the Satellite system, so comes through the Satellite dish only.

      I don't believe that there are any plans to send Showcase content via your BB connection at present, but then I don't work for BSkyB.

      Currently only those who are on Sky's LLU BB services (Unlimited & Lite) can receive Anytime+. Sky BB Connect users would be left out if it went though the BB connection and bandwidth usage would be very high for everyone.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: HD on Anytime+?

      Sky has signed up to be one of the content providers for YouView which should be launching in 2012.

      Now wether that means that they will be making Anytime+ avaliable to that platform or some other content model is anybody's geuss but it does mean that by the time that launches Virgin will be the only service that would require a Virgin connection. (as BT is also a contnent provider for YouView)
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    5. #4
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: HD on Anytime+?

      I'm sure it will eventually. There are obviously bandwidth concerns. However, they've just started introducing some limited HD content to Sky Player.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: HD on Anytime+?

      YouView looks really interesting.

      I guess now would be a good time to ensure that people are getting unlimited & non-traffic managed BB connections.

      One of the first questions that I would have would be do Sky subscribers get a specific link to enable them to access any Sky channels on it or would they have to purchase yet another subscription?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: HD on Anytime+?

      They have already started putting HD content up in the movies section at least. There are about 5 movies that are non-box office which are available in sd and hd. Only one I can think of off the top of my head is Clerks, but there are a few others.

      Just checked, they have added a fair few more, so it looks like they are adding HD movies all the time now. Not sure about other content though

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: HD on Anytime+?

      Woohoo! You'#re right!

      I've just taken a look to see if they were the same as 'Showcase' but they definitely are not.

      With figures of around 3Gb for a HD movie, I guess that Sky BB Lite customers will definitely need to think about things for the long term if they wish to view HD content.

      I realise that 7.50 or 10 per month does actually add up, but it could be a worthwhile investment for the future.

      With DLNA and YouView being made available in the future, home networks and broadband networks are going to be pushed even more.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION