Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 23 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 230
    Like Tree5Likes

    Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

    This is a discussion on Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread... within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I sent a tweet to @SkyHD who simply said "we are still rolling out the software to these and will ...

    1. #41
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      I sent a tweet to @SkyHD who simply said "we are still rolling out the software to these and will start enabling them when complete. You can register to be notified"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      590
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      They called me back, terrible service, they offered me a 1 tb box for 250.00 thats it,

      Just done a quote through virgin
      50mb BB
      full channells
      full phone unlimited
      hd box and hd price

      for 85.00 a month ,which is what I am paying.

      Might call them to see if I take that out, they can do cheaper over the phone as well, and twist their arm for tivo

    4. #43
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by canada16 View Post
      Just done a quote through virgin
      50mb BB
      50MB download speed? *drool*

      *scuttles off to check Virgin site*

      Edit .... I never realised that Virgin did so much. They appear to do all the channels that I use on Sky, plus you can record two things and still watch another channel (not pre-recorded), you get a spare HD box for another room and they do very decent broadband packages. Unfortunately, despite having a Virgin box right outside my house on the main road, our actual street isn't connected *sigh*
      Last edited by Stumpy; 13-04-11 at 02:54 PM. Reason: there and back again .... :P

    5. #44
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Yeah but don't Virgin only have about 3 HD channels? lol

    6. #45
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...


    7. #46
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by Stumpy View Post
      If i counted correctly, 17
      Whilst Sky has over 50 available, I guess it really depends on what you are interested in watching.

      Since you already have the satellite dish, you could always purchase a Freesat STB and watch any HD channels on there.

      Personally speaking, I've had my HD TV since Feb and already prefer watching the HD channels over SD. I really resent that BBC 1 will not show the local news in HD, for example (and no it isn't available on FreeView in my area yet).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #47
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      @ Scubbie .... very true ;-)

      Personally, there are only certain channels I watch out of the huge amount available, but those I do watch, I prefer to watch in HD. However, I'd seriously consider taking the hit and going back to SD for some of those channels if I could go from 4Mb download speed to well into double figures - unfortunately, I'd probably want that speed to take advantage of stuff like Anytime+ ... if it arrives ;-)

      As it is, I'm just going to sit tight and see if 4Mb will be fast enough to cope - especially if someone is using the internet in another room.

    9. #48
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      The is nothing stopping you from subscribing to Virgin's Broadband without the TV package.

      What you could also consider, depending on your funds, is subscribing to both Sky & Virgin BB.

      There are some routers available now that will also connect to both ADSL & Cable at the same time.

      The Netgear DGND3700 can do this, but I'm given to understand that it does manage the balance between the two networks too well. There are others that actually manage the balance between the two networks available for the domestic market.

      The DrayTek Vigor 2820 range is one such group of routers, but it was reported on this forum that the latest firmware has a few problems. I checked the other day and an older firmware is available on their website.

      For a list of them and a guide to their price see:

      DrayTek ADSL Routers (BT Line) @ Novatech.co.uk

      As always, there are other solutions and cheaper prices elsewhere.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Stumpy (14-04-11)

    11. #49
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      590
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Your bundle
      TV XL
      Phone XL
      Broadband 100
      12 month contract 64.06 << Change your order
      Virgin phone line 12.99
      Broadband extras More Broadband extras >
      Virgin Media Super Hub and adaptor FREE
      TV extras More TV extras >
      ESPN FREE
      V+ HD Box FREE
      Sky Movies Collection Remove 21.50
      Fees
      100Mb activation 30.00
      V+ HD activation 49.95
      Standard engineer installation
      You are saving 40.00 FREE
      eBill for cable services FREE Switch to paper bill >
      Your total costs 98.55 79.95

      << Change your order Go to checkout

      Clear orderWhat you'll pay
      Monthly cost 98.55

      One-off cost 79.95
      You save 40.00 119.95

      Your discounts

      Free installation
      Your order qualifies for free standard installation or 40 off early morning installation

      Exclusive offer
      50 credit on your first bill when you buy broadband, TV and phone together online.
      Do you have a promotional code?


      98.00 A MONTH, BET I CAN GET IT CHEAPER IF I CALL, 100MB BB IN MY AREA.. MMMMMMM

    12. #50
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Hey folks, this has started to get off-topic

     

     
    Page 5 of 23 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION