Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 23 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 230
    Like Tree5Likes

    Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

    This is a discussion on Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread... within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Originally Posted by Jaysun Just for information... i received my update (like everyone else) ....... Not ...like everyone else! I ...

    1. #21
      andrewh13's Avatar
      andrewh13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: eaewd
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by Jaysun View Post
      Just for information...

      i received my update (like everyone else) .......

      Not ...like everyone else! I and others have never had it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      i received my update (like everyone else) but it has since been removed from the box
      It looks like, as originally suspected, these boxes just do not have the hardware to support this update. I remember reading months ago that the cpu, or it might have been memory, in these boxes would not be able to support Anytime+. It could be they are going to push out another software update, but to be honest, they have had enough time to get it right, they must be grasping at straws.

      If it is the case that these boxes cannot be upgraded to receive Anytime+, it will put Sky in a very awkward position. They have already announced that they are going to replace Thomson boxes in this position, so are they also going to replace the 780s? This would be a financial disaster for Sky as there must be thousands of these boxes in circulation, although all the users will not qualify for AT+, so will not need their box replaced. This would further aggravate those who don't qualify for AT+, first they can't get it because they are not on Sky LLU and now they would miss out on a shiny new box. Sky are between a rock and a hard place, but I am sure they are doing there best to solve it.

      These are my own thoughts, I don't have any more real information than anyone else

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      As much as it might be nice to upgrade one STB to another, as many are already finding out, you can't copy/transfer anything which may have been recorded on the older STB.

      Many may consider this a worthwhile sacrifice, but others will want to retain access to the recorded content as it may not be broadcast again.

      I wonder how many will be planning to record the Royal Wedding on the STBs?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #24
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I wonder how many will be planning to record the Royal Wedding on the STBs?
      Oh yes... I'm going to record it - and then delete it straight away (without watching it)... just so I get the chance to delete the 'Royal Family' lol

    6. #25
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by Jaysun View Post
      Oh yes... I'm going to record it - and then delete it straight away (without watching it)... just so I get the chance to delete the 'Royal Family' lol
      Not a Royalist I guess?

      Just be careful of those men in their black suits outside.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #26
      Katash's Avatar
      Katash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      I hope they do replace them, mine is painfully slow now since the sysf update and Sky's answer to this is 'Buy a new box or pay for a callout and you'll get a recon with 90 day warranty'

      The box is 14 months old and has been fine until their update crippled it now they want me to pay to fix their mistake?

      .... By the way I'm on my 4th box in 4 years.

    8. #27
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      when I spoke to Sky recently in regards to the problems my box had - the person I spoke to point out that if any boxes developed faults as a result of the update... they would be replaced by Sky (even if out of warranty).

      I don't think they'd have any choice to be honest though, you can't really be liable for faults they cause.

      Also what happens if you decide to end your contract with them because you have a faulty box and can no longer receive their service?.... simple - you get a new box free lol

    9. #28
      nutter123's Avatar
      nutter123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Just to update on my problems. I have a fast box again (woohoo) the software though has somehow rolled itself back to 9.10.14.v (I have went back in time)

      EDIT: Fixed a spelling mistake. DO'H

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by nutter123 View Post
      Just to update on my problems. I have a fast box again (woohoo) the softare though has somehow rolled itself back to 9.10.14.v (I have went back in time)
      That seems to be happening to many, it seems the update failed in some way.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      Katash's Avatar
      Katash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Anytime+ Amstrad 780 problem thread...

      Quote Originally Posted by Jaysun View Post
      when I spoke to Sky recently in regards to the problems my box had - the person I spoke to point out that if any boxes developed faults as a result of the update... they would be replaced by Sky (even if out of warranty).

      I don't think they'd have any choice to be honest though, you can't really be liable for faults they cause.

      Also what happens if you decide to end your contract with them because you have a faulty box and can no longer receive their service?.... simple - you get a new box free lol
      They seem adamant I've got to pay for a new box if I want it fixing ..... Shocking customer service

     

     
    Page 3 of 23 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION