Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 51

    Amstrads Yet?

    This is a discussion on Amstrads Yet? within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Just got an email from them telling me I can claim my free homeplugs worth 60 I wonder if this ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Amstrads Yet?

      Just got an email from them telling me I can claim my free homeplugs worth 60
      I wonder if this is a 'sweetener' for being messed around with this update? They did not offer me anything.

      The update comes by satellite, you do not need the phone connected.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Jaysun's Avatar
      Jaysun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mansfield (EMMNSFI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrads Yet?

      That's strange, the email I got today stated Wireless connectors - not Homeplugs...


      A little something to thank you for waiting


      We appreciate your patience, so we'd like to offer you a free Sky Wireless Connector worth 60. Just the thing if your Sky+HD box and Sky Broadband router are in different rooms or if you just hate all those wires.


      So keep an eye on your emails. We'll be in touch as soon as your Sky box is ready for Sky Anytime+ with details of how to activate and claim your free Wireless Connector.

    4. #23
      ToeKnee's Avatar
      ToeKnee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Exclamation Re: Amstrads Yet?

      My software updated this evening when I was out.
      Model Number and Operating System Version both = SYSF32.22.
      Version Number = 4F3006
      EPG Software Version = 42.0.5.1_3

      Unfortunately the box was recording Bones at the time and so the recording cut off after 5 minutes.

      I thought that updates were only supposed to take place overnight when the box is in standby and idle!

      Still no 2nd email about how to activate the service and claim my free wireless network adapter.

      My Sky doesn't seem to realise the software has been upgraded as it still says "Unfortunately you do not have a Sky Anytime+ compatible box in your portfolio. We're gradually rolling out the service and it will be available on your Sky box soon.".
      Last edited by ToeKnee; 24-03-11 at 12:12 AM.

    5. #24
      DannyD12's Avatar
      DannyD12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrads Yet?

      Had anyone with a 780 actually been able to sign up for Anytime+ yet? I'm still getting the incompatible STB message on the upgrade page.

    6. #25
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Amstrads Yet?

      Nope none of us have. On Digital Spy someone has posted that they hope to have this sorted by "the second week in April" as always with these things it could be totally wrong but we will have to see.

    7. #26
      ToeKnee's Avatar
      ToeKnee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Amstrads Yet?

      I just spoke to someone in Customer Services and his system was still showing that my box had not yet been upgraded and was therefore "incompatible" therefore he could not yet activate it.

      He just advised me to wait and it would be done "soon".

      Obviously the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing!

    8. #27
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Amstrads Yet?

      You didn't need to phone up as we could have told you that your box hasn't yet been done, everyone with this make of box is in the same position so it is not just you.

    9. #28
      andrewh13's Avatar
      andrewh13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: eaewd
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrads Yet?

      Quote Originally Posted by ToeKnee View Post
      My software updated this evening when I was out.
      Model Number and Operating System Version both = SYSF32.22.
      Version Number = 4F3006
      EPG Software Version = 42.0.5.1_3

      [/I]".
      Hi,

      Tried a forced software update and after 10 minutes my DRX780UK remains at:

      Model Number: DMR-V19
      Version Number: 4F3006
      Op Sys: 1.32.B12
      EPG: sky+ 9.10.14v

      Does the forced option not work anymore and we have to wait for selected overnight update from sky?

    10. #29
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Amstrads Yet?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      It seems definite that the Thomson STBs are never going to work with Anytime+. Reports on this forum seem to confirm that members have been able to replace them with an Amstrad DRX980 for a good discount.

      I haven't seen any reports of owners of the Amstrad DRX780 having the same response.
      Sky offered some DRX780 users 1TB boxes for 149 including engineer visit not long after Anytime+ started. I didn't take it up as I had already replaced my 780 - for the same price - a couple of months previously (their mail system clearly takes a bit of time to catch up on these things).

      Good to see though that they have finally sorted out the updates on these boxes. They were one of the last to get the new EPG as well, as I recall.

    11. #30
      ToeKnee's Avatar
      ToeKnee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Amstrads Yet?

      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      You didn't need to phone up as we could have told you that your box hasn't yet been done, everyone with this make of box is in the same position so it is not just you.
      As the software updated on Wednesday to:
      "Model Number and Operating System Version both = SYSF32.22.
      Version Number = 4F3006
      EPG Software Version = 42.0.5.1_3"
      I just assumed that this was the necessary upgrade to run Sky Anytime+.

      Is there yet another software upgrade that I need and, if so, how do I tell when my box has it?

     

     
    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION