Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 45 of 45

    Anytime+ - NON Sky BB Router

    This is a discussion on Anytime+ - NON Sky BB Router within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Oh you can also get a linksys wag54g2 Its also Solos-W i have one sitting in my draw sync speed ...

    1. #41
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ - NON Sky BB Router

      Oh you can also get a linksys wag54g2

      Its also Solos-W
      i have one sitting in my draw

      sync speed is almost the same as the billions
      but upnp is fully broken
      and there's not much in the way of setup options and tweaks
      and it has 16 meg of ram compared to the billion's having 32

      but they are super cheap
      i picked mine up on ebay for like 15 delivered

      so its a good matched chipset to dip your toes in the water with


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ - NON Sky BB Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
      Never heard of that brand so your saying it should work for anytime plus if i ever change my package and your connection is stable?
      I have anytime plus working just fine on mine on both of my boxes
      its just a case of setting the firewall up properly

      And yes its super stable adsl wise
      and i sync faster than i ever would with the sky broadcom routers

      as i said though i cant help you with how good the wireless is
      as i have the non wireless version

    4. #43
      Sylar's Avatar
      Sylar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ - NON Sky BB Router

      Clearly your more down on these things than me have no idea what use the sync speed has to do with it or the amout of ram in a routor. Mabye ill have to just loose any hope of getting anytime + in the future and just go for a cheaper better routor than i have the ones that will work with anytime you suggested seem expenive when u can get them for 40 with wireless n.

    5. #44
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ - NON Sky BB Router

      The problem you are faced with
      is you are on the easynet core network which is globespan/conexant based

      Most new modems are broadcom based
      including all of sky's

      If you arnt that bothered about your speed
      pick up any old router
      it cant perform much worse than the broadcom based sky ones

      ram doesnt make any difference with sync speed ofc
      but if you have loads of torrents open less ram = more chance of the router stalling and such

      This is the reason i picked up the 7402X it cost me 59 on ebay
      instead of 160 for the 7402NX

      it plugs straight into my 24 port gigabit switch
      that has a tp-link 1043nd Wireless N 300 + Gigabit running dd-wrt running as a wireless access point

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Shonk For This Useful Post:

      Sylar (26-05-11)

    7. #45
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      78
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ - NON Sky BB Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
      Question of the year what router? Im thinking of getting my own router sick of the sky one but dont want to loose future anytime plus if I change package. Ah just noticed by your user name did you have to do any extra config or did it just work?
      The router I use is a Netgear DG 834GT which I purchased a few years back.

      All I did with my own router was to use Fuzzy Logic's username and password extractor to extract the username and password from the Sky D-Link DSL 2640S router, enter these into the appropriate part in the Netgear DG 834 GT setup page and I took note of what the VPI were (it was zero) and the VCI (this was 38) and entered these into the appropriate part too. And that was it, Anytime + worked straight away no problems at all.

      Bear in mind though, that if your D-Link router has been updated to firmware 2.04, the username/password extraction program will not work. But you can however downgrade the firmware to a pre 2.04 version by following the link in my signature

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Tal71 For This Useful Post:

      Sylar (26-05-11)

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION