Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Anytime+ Router Issues

    This is a discussion on Anytime+ Router Issues within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; I have an Amstrad 1TB HD box which has been upgraded to receive Anytime+. I decided to go down the ...

    1. #1
      mgc2504's Avatar
      mgc2504 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anytime+ Router Issues

      I have an Amstrad 1TB HD box which has been upgraded to receive Anytime+. I decided to go down the Homeplugs ethernet over the mains route to receive Anytime+ and this works as expected. However, there is a nasty side effect in that my Netgear DG834GT router keeps losing its wireless and internet connections when the Homeplug is connected to the ethernet socket.

      Has anyone come across this problem before, or any ideas as to whether it might be my set up or router that is at fault?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Router Issues

      Sounds like the homeplug is causing noise, what make and model is it?

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      mgc2504's Avatar
      mgc2504 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Router Issues

      Thanks for your response.

      I am using Solwise 85Mbps Homeplug Turbo Ethernet Adaptors (PL-85PE). I have assumed these plugs to be the correct ones having looked at previous threads.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Router Issues

      I have the same ones and thay work fine for me although I don't have Anytime+.

      Have you tried swapping them over?

    6. #5
      mgc2504's Avatar
      mgc2504 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Router Issues

      Thanks for your response. I tried swapping the ethernet plugs last night but that did not make any difference. The wireless and internet connections were still being lost although subsequently automatically reconnected on the router.

      Today, it appears to be stable. However, I am not sure if this is to do with me tweaking the settings on the router by turning Access Control on and putting all the connected bits of kit, including the Sky+ HD Box, in the Trusted Wireless Stations list.

      I will monitor what happens and report back.

    7. #6
      mgc2504's Avatar
      mgc2504 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Router Issues

      Unfortunately, the router continues to fall over and lose its wireless and internet connections. I am afraid it is back to the drawing board!

      Everything is stable when the ethernet plugs are switched off, so it looks like they may be the cause of the problem. This still does not explain why though.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Router Issues

      Send Solwise an email explaining the problem. They are usually quite good at looking after their customers. The plugs may be faulty or need a firmware update.

      They also have a well frequented forum where you can get help and advice - Solwise Forum

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      mgc2504's Avatar
      mgc2504 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Router Issues

      Thanks for the advice. I have sent an email to Solwise and will await their response.

      Once I have that I will post what the outcome is in case anyone else suffers the same issue in the future.

    10. #9
      Diplo's Avatar
      Diplo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caldy
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Wirral, Merseyside
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Anytime+ Router Issues

      Just FYI: I've a Sky Router, Amstrad HD box and use the Solwise 85Mbps Homeplug adapters but have had no problems with wireless connections. So I'm not sure what the difference is?

    11. #10
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Anytime+ Router Issues

      Long shot but have you tried changing the wireless channel in your router ?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION