Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Netgear WiFi Adapter

    This is a discussion on Netgear WiFi Adapter within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Hello all, As an alternative to the 60 sky wireless adapter for Anytime+ I have just pruchased a Netgear 'Universal ...

    1. #1
      peebog's Avatar
      peebog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Netgear WiFi Adapter

      Hello all,

      As an alternative to the 60 sky wireless adapter for Anytime+ I have just pruchased a Netgear 'Universal WiFi Internet Adapter' from Maplin for 39:

      Netgear Universal WiFi Internet Adaptor Free Delivery : Wireless Cards USB : Maplin

      I can confirm that it works with no problems!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Netgear WiFi Adapter

      Yes it's a steal at that price if you only need one connection.
      Do you power yours via the mains adapter or the USB adapter ?
      I use mine to connect a Sony Blu-ray to internet via Sky router though.(router is within wired range of Skybox for Anytime)

    4. #3
      peebog's Avatar
      peebog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear WiFi Adapter

      I am running it off the mains - I haven't tried the usb option.
      Good point about only having a single ethernet connection - but presumably you could add an etherent switch to give you more?

    5. #4
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Netgear WiFi Adapter

      Quote Originally Posted by peebog View Post
      I am running it off the mains - I haven't tried the usb option.
      Good point about only having a single ethernet connection - but presumably you could add an etherent switch to give you more?
      I assume you can, but you could probably get a couple of homeplugs which include a switch for a similar price.
      Unless the mains wiring was really bad, homeplugs would have better range/speed then wireless...

    6. #5
      englishwhistler's Avatar
      englishwhistler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    7. #6
      leggie's Avatar
      leggie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01252
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear WiFi Adapter

      I also bought one of these from Maplins and it works fine. I'm powering it from a USB port on my Sony DVD/HDD Recorder as I had limited power sockets available.

    8. #7
      chanlon1's Avatar
      chanlon1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIBA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear WiFi Adapter

      just purchased one of these netgear adaptors from maplin tonight and can also confirm that it works fine.

      One point to note for anyone buying one, RTFM
      It requires you to go to a browser setup screen first before connecting to the SKY+HD box.

      I didnt, and couldnt work out why it wasnt working!

      Also, as a FYI, I am running the power from the XBOX 360 usb socket, so no need to plug it into the mains

    9. #8
      Kellyanner3's Avatar
      Kellyanner3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear WiFi Adapter

      I'm looking to get my sky plus anytime up and running, is this wifi router all I need? I cannot connect it by Ethernet cable as my sky router Is upstairs and my sky hd box is downstairs. How does the netgear adaptor work? Just picks up the wifi signal for anytime plus and that's us ready to go? And does it just get powered by mains?

      Hope someone can help here

    10. #9
      Kellyanner3's Avatar
      Kellyanner3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear WiFi Adapter

      Once u have it set up with wifi do u need to go on comp to set it up on sky website?

    11. #10
      chanlon1's Avatar
      chanlon1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIBA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear WiFi Adapter

      Once you get this router, connect it to your computer and fire up a browser.
      The browser page should automatically take you to the routers inbuilt homepage - this allows you to configure it.
      I cant remember completely what is required - but it was very simple.

      Next step is to connect it to your Sky box - making sure all 3 green lights are on.
      Then go into the Settings and Network section, and your Sky box should do some searching and show that it is connected successfully.

      Be aware that prior to all of this, you will have needed to have signed up to Sky Anytime + etc.
      www.babybmw.net - BMW 1 Series Forum

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION