Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    BB router next to TV?

    This is a discussion on BB router next to TV? within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Just tried Anytime+ and I think its really good but had to run a temporary cable 18m to try it ...

    1. #1
      teddyman5's Avatar
      teddyman5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BB router next to TV?

      Just tried Anytime+ and I think its really good but had to run a temporary cable 18m to try it out. Can't make the cable permanent so could go wireless at a cost of 60 but thought about moving the router.Would this be OK next to the TV,Wii,HD box,Video sender,CD player and speakers etc or will there be interference?
      If its OK I would need to use the telephone line into the HD box for the router as well, can I get an adaptor with a modem socket one side and 2 on the other? Is this possible or do I have to go wireless? In fact is the Sky wireless connector any good?

      Thanks and sorry if this is in the wrong section.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: BB router next to TV?

      I would not advise running the Sky router from the same extension that the receiver is connected too, this is usually a cheap extension lead and may cause your speeds to suffer.

      A better option may be homeplugs, much better than wireless.

    4. #3
      teddyman5's Avatar
      teddyman5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BB router next to TV?

      Homeplugs?

    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,205
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: BB router next to TV?

      Quote Originally Posted by teddyman5 View Post
      Homeplugs?
      These:

      Twin Pack 85Mbps Homeplug Ethernet Adapters: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

    6. #5
      teddyman5's Avatar
      teddyman5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BB router next to TV?

      Why does the hd box need a phone line anyway if the box is linked to the router?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: BB router next to TV?

      The modem in the box serves a different purpose, mainly to allow you to use the interactive services like Box office. If you only have one box, just unplug it, Sky will not bother. If you have multi room, then all boxes must be plugged in at all times so the Sky can check they are being used properly.

      You should really keep your router plugged into the master socket for the best performance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION