Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    sky anytime+ settings help

    This is a discussion on sky anytime+ settings help within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; When setting up network for sky anytime+ where exactly do I find the settings in the router for IP address, ...

    1. #1
      kimc's Avatar
      kimc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontefract
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky anytime+ settings help

      When setting up network for sky anytime+ where exactly do I find the settings in the router for IP address, subnet, dns and gateway? is it the ones on the router status page under adsl port? I want to get it right for when we come to set it up.
      Thanks for any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: sky anytime+ settings help

      Doesn't the Sky box use DHCP for all that?

    4. #3
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: sky anytime+ settings help

      Quote Originally Posted by steelysteph View Post
      Doesn't the Sky box use DHCP for all that?
      It does. There is a DHCP 'on' option in the HD box Network tab that sorts it all out automatically.

    5. #4
      kimc's Avatar
      kimc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontefract
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime+ settings help

      No idea lol. When we looked at network setup on the sky antime+ menu on TV it asks for these settings. Will it use DHCP when we come to set it up? If so why does it ask for these settings?

    6. #5
      kimc's Avatar
      kimc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontefract
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime+ settings help

      Quote Originally Posted by SadBloke View Post
      It does. There is a DHCP 'on' option in the HD box Network tab that sorts it all out automatically.
      Sorry, we posted at same time lol. So I don't need those settings when we connect up with ethernet cable?

    7. #6
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: sky anytime+ settings help

      Quote Originally Posted by kimc View Post
      Sorry, we posted at same time lol. So I don't need those settings when we connect up with ethernet cable?
      No, DHCP should do it all for you.

    8. #7
      kimc's Avatar
      kimc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontefract
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime+ settings help

      Yes it did, once we connected via ethernet cable today, it did it straight away. Must say I like the look of the VOD

    9. #8
      howy's Avatar
      howy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime+ settings help

      Hi Ive switched internet provider and was just wondering if anyone had managed to connect with a different router other than SKY's surely it should just be a matter of entering the right settings?

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: sky anytime+ settings help

      Currently Anytime+ will only work with a Sky Unlimited LLU package.

    11. #10
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: sky anytime+ settings help

      Quote Originally Posted by howy View Post
      Hi Ive switched internet provider and was just wondering if anyone had managed to connect with a different router other than SKY's surely it should just be a matter of entering the right settings?
      It is against Sky T&Cs to use any router other than though own however you are right, all you need to do is to extract your details from the Sky router (using the guide on here somewhere) and then enter them in your own router and it should be all systems go.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION