Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 76
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

    This is a discussion on Sky Anytime plus wireless options... within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Originally Posted by uncletupelo Yes, it was the wireless option I was looking at. Thanks for the link but its ...

    1. #41
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by uncletupelo View Post
      Yes, it was the wireless option I was looking at. Thanks for the link but its wireless or nothing.
      A wireless connection would be quite slow as both routers are only rated to WiFi g, even if it were possible.

      Have you considered using a pair of HomePlugs if you are unable to run a long Ethernet cable between the two routers?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      uncletupelo's Avatar
      uncletupelo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      A wireless connection would be quite slow as both routers are only rated to WiFi g, even if it were possible.

      Have you considered using a pair of HomePlugs if you are unable to run a long Ethernet cable between the two routers?
      I have but I don't want any further costs. Thanks for the help though.

    4. #43
      tkmaxx5's Avatar
      tkmaxx5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01943
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Hi Guys....would a network extender, like this...

      [ame=http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WA730RE-150MBPS-Wireless-Extender/dp/B003UZFSDG]TP-Link TL-WA730RE 150MBPS Wireless Lite N Range Extender, Atheros, 1T1R, 2.4GHz: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories[/ame]

      Be a solution to the wireless connection issues for anytime+ ??

      Edit to say I know there is one LAN port on the device - would that work with the sky box?
      Last edited by tkmaxx5; 16-08-11 at 11:01 AM.

    5. #44
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      You need an ethernet to wireless extender, such as this - [ame=http://www.amazon.co.uk/Netgear-Universal-Wifi-Internet-Adapter/dp/B003VIWJYI/ref=pd_cp_computers_0]Netgear Universal Wifi Internet Adapter: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories[/ame]
      The ethernet port on the TPLink is used to set it up as a wireless extender. I doubt if it would work as an ethernet to wireless bridge.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      tkmaxx5 (16-08-11)

    7. #45
      tkmaxx5's Avatar
      tkmaxx5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01943
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Cheers for that mate...

    8. #46
      mcphailan.'s Avatar
      mcphailan. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      66
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      You can get 10m ethernet cables from Amazon as cheap as chips if you fancy doing any drilling through ceilings malarky to get sky box and router in lurve

    9. #47
      anthonypilgrim's Avatar
      anthonypilgrim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01869
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have homeplugs for both my hd boxes and they work like a dream. Connection is fast enough for a speedy download and once plugged in (months ago) I have never had to touch them since.


      ---
      - Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    10. #48
      realj42's Avatar
      realj42 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Wallasey, UK
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by tkmaxx5 View Post
      Hi Guys....would a network extender, like this...

      TP-Link TL-WA730RE 150MBPS Wireless Lite N Range Extender, Atheros, 1T1R, 2.4GHz: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      Be a solution to the wireless connection issues for anytime+ ??

      Edit to say I know there is one LAN port on the device - would that work with the sky box?
      Quick answer - YES. This is exactly what I am using to connect my SKY HD+ box to the router. Seems to work fine, anytime+ working fine, downloads at 3-4Mbs or more. You can connect the single ethernet port to the SKY+ box or you can connect it to a cheap switch (with as many ports as required), as I have, to include my PS3 as well.

      I have set the TP link box to Client mode - in this mode it just passes all packets from the ethernet port over the WI-FI link to the router. The boxes downstream of the TP-Link then just use the SKY router for DHCP etc. This is the simplest mode, though you can also set the TP link up as a full bridge, which may work similarly.

      What you cannot do is have the TP Link box act as a client and WI-FI repeater at the same time.

      Configuration of this box is a little cumbersome, and not for network 'virgins' but anyone who has done basic config of a router should be OK.

      Hope this helps

    11. #49
      Marcus Allen's Avatar
      Marcus Allen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      Quote Originally Posted by palaceben View Post
      I think I have my answer. I've bought an ethernet extension connector, to get the bridge out of my entertainment centre, and I'm using a spare USB on my Wii ... Anytime+ has started straight away, and is merrily downloading now.

      Happy Days and thanks to all for advice.
      Hi there, I am very new to this forum, and this is my first post. I have recently signed up for skyhd, skytalk and sky broadband. I would like to use anytime plus but have the same problem as many in this forum as my master socket is not located near the main sky hd box. I also have a nintento wii, and was interested in knowing how to use it as a bridge so i can set up the sky hd box wirelessly. Does this option work ? I would rather not have another device plugged into the sky box, as it will be yet another device that my kids can destroy Palaceben you seem to have done this, but can you walk me through it please...

      thanks

    12. #50
      ironmanalishi's Avatar
      ironmanalishi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01495
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime plus wireless options...

      what about one of these to use as a usb power source?

      very very cheap

      7dayshop.com - Online Store

     

     
    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION