Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 14 of 20 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast
    Results 131 to 140 of 191

    Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

    This is a discussion on Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Why oh why is this linked to the primary card - my primary is on an old sky+ box but ...

    1. #131
      browsenotbuy's Avatar
      browsenotbuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      Why oh why is this linked to the primary card - my primary is on an old sky+ box but I have far too much content on this box plus my new 1GB box to swap cards and lose. SO at present although anytime+ shows as activated on my account, it will not work on the 1GB as its not the primary viewing card,.

      How do sky intend to handle households with multiple sky HD boxes & subscriptions who wish to have anytime+ on more than one box ???


    2. Advertisement
    3. #132
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      If you call Sky they can re-pair the cards to the opposite boxes.

    4. #133
      TheMadScot's Avatar
      TheMadScot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      Had this email in from a help centre rep following a question as to why my own HD box didn't qualify for activation at launch...

      "We are gradually rolling out Sky Anytime + to all Sky + HD Boxes and can confirm that 75% of the country will be up and running by the end of November 2010 and the rest of the country by the end of January 2011"

      So: that's the answer for anyone not with a 1TB box.

    5. #134
      Grumpyduck's Avatar
      Grumpyduck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Worthing
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      Quote Originally Posted by SadBloke View Post
      If you call Sky they can re-pair the cards to the opposite boxes.
      Yes but this will deactivate any recordings on BOTH boxes...


      GD
      Sky Subscriber since 1990
      Amstrad 1TB Box
      Sky Fibre Unlimited


    6. #135
      Scy's Avatar
      Scy
      Scy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      Quote Originally Posted by browsenotbuy View Post
      Why oh why is this linked to the primary card - my primary is on an old sky+ box but I have far too much content on this box plus my new 1GB box to swap cards and lose. SO at present although anytime+ shows as activated on my account, it will not work on the 1GB as its not the primary viewing card,.

      How do sky intend to handle households with multiple sky HD boxes & subscriptions who wish to have anytime+ on more than one box ???
      It's the usual short-sightedness, assuming everyone has the typical setup in their house so there's no need to build a system that handles the unusual setups. This reminds me of how the HD boxes always record Anytime in HD, regardless of whether you have an HD subscription. Of course, everyone who owns an HD box has it connected to an HD TV, don't they?

      This worries me, I've got one HD box with an HD subscription and another HD box without an HD sub (it's attached to an SD TV). Ideally I want to access Anytime+ from both boxes. I can see trouble ahead...

    7. #136
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      It looks like they are only going to enable one box, which sort of devalues multi room.
      Maybe they will do them all eventually.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #137
      Scy's Avatar
      Scy
      Scy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      On a moderately related topic, I noticed that Sky recommends that you plug your HD box into the reserved green port on your router. That's a little impractical if your router is physically separated from your box. It could mean you have to run a separate cable just for your Sky box.

      Obviously the box doesn't have to be connected to the green port for Anytime+ to operate, or someone would have noted it by now. However, does anyone know if there's an advantage in attaching it to the green port? I'm thinking QoS prioritisation of the VOD traffic, perhaps?

    9. #138
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      I think they are just justifying having coloured ports. The DG834GT does not have different coloured ports.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #139
      Scy's Avatar
      Scy
      Scy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think they are just justifying having coloured ports. The DG834GT does not have different coloured ports.
      I wouldn't be surprised.

      Even if my router does some tricks that others don't, it can't be anything too important if Sky didn't bother to implement it on the Netgear routers.

    11. #140
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime + (PLUS) roll out update

      just paint, i think its because lots of people ask which port and color codes help with sky supplied equiptment
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!

     

     
    Page 14 of 20 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION